Transactions of the Royal Society of New Zealand : Earth Sciences masthead



Region National
Available online 1969-1970

The Royal Society (known as the New Zealand Institute before 1933) published an annual collection of papers read before its various branches (the Transactions) in combination with accounts of the Institute’s activities, and the activities of its Board of Governors (the Proceedings) from 1869. In 1958 the Proceedings and Transactions were split and published separately.

From 1961 the Transactions were divided into four series: Botany, General, Geology and Zoology. In 1968 further changes were made when the number of publications was reduced to three when Botany and Zoology were combined into Biological Sciences. At the same time the Geology series was renamed Earth Sciences.

The first volume of the Earth Sciences series of the Transactions was published in 1970. It continued the Geology numbering sequence so the first volume was known as Volume 7.

As with the earlier series, papers were published separately, at irregular intervals and at greatly varying rates, so the first Earth Sciences paper was actually published on 8 September 1969. Only two volumes of the Earth Sciences series were produced.

The editor was Burton Wallace Collins (1916-) and the associate editors were geomorphologist Sir Charles Cotton (1885-1970) and zoologist Walter Clive Clark (1927-).

At the Annual General Meeting of Fellows of the Royal Society of New Zealand on 20 May 1970, an agreement was made that all further papers would be published in a unified periodical, the Journal of the Royal Society of New Zealand. The first issue was published in June 1971, and the Biological Sciences, Earth Sciences and General Transactions ceased.

In 2017 the Journal of the Royal Society of New Zealand was still published by the Royal Society, alongside the six scientific journals that the Society took over in 1991 when the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research (DSIR) was restructured.

  1. New formats

    Papers Past now contains more than just newspapers. Use these links to navigate to other kinds of materials.

  2. Hierarchy

    These links will always show you how deep you are in the collection. Click them to get a broader view of the items you're currently viewing.

  3. Search

    Enter names, places, or other keywords that you're curious about here. We'll look for them in the fulltext of millions of articles.

  4. Search

    Browsed to an interesting page? Click here to search within the item you're currently viewing, or start a new search.

  5. Search facets

    Use these buttons to limit your searches to particular dates, titles, and more.

  6. View selection

    Switch between images of the original document and text transcriptions and outlines you can cut and paste.

  7. Tools

    Print, save, zoom in and more.

  8. Explore

    If you'd rather just browse through documents, click here to find titles and issues from particular dates and geographic regions.

  9. Need more help?

    The "Help" link will show you different tips for each page on the site, so click here often as you explore the site.