Article image
Article image
Article image
Article image
This article displays in one automatically-generated column. View the full page to see article in its original form.


The members of this House returned to their Chamber at the close of His Excellency's speech, mustering the exact number of seventeen, viz. :— The Speaker (Mr. Clifford)— Wellington; Messrs. Williamson (Superintendent), Merriman, Brodie, Beckham, Daldy, Carleton, , Graham, Lee, Henderson— Avchland ; Captain j Cargill (Superintendent) — Otago ; Messrs. Richmond (Colonial Treasurer) and East— New Plymouth ; Messrs. Hall, Ollivier, Packer — Canterbury ; and Mr. Stafford (Colonial Secretary) — Nelson. Messrs. Ollivier and Packer, as new mem- ; hers, took the customary oaths, and were welcomed by the Speaker. The Speaker read notices of resignation of their seats he had received from the following fourteen members : — J. L. Campbell, City of Auckland F. D. Bell, Hutt District I. E. Featherston, Wellington J. Lewthwaite, Taranaki J. Cuff, Akaroa J. Greenwood, Pensioner Settlements C. Elliott, Nelson W. Fitzherbert, Wellington C. D. Ward, Wellington S. Kevans, Wellington J. E. Fitzgerald, Lyttelton J. Cargill, Otago W. Wells, Nelson J. V. Smith, Ahuriri. On the motion of Mr. Stafford, it was resolved to present an address to his Excellency, requesting him to issue writs for the election of members to fill the vacant seats. Mr. Beckham gave notice that he would on Tuesday move the reply to his Excellency's speech. The House adjourned till Tuesday.

This article text was automatically generated and may include errors. View the full page to see article in its original form.
Permanent link to this item

Bibliographic details

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES., Otago Witness, Issue 340, 5 June 1858

Word Count

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES. Otago Witness, Issue 340, 5 June 1858