Article image
Article image
This article displays in one automatically-generated column. View the full page to see article in its original form.

LAWN TENNIS CHAMPIONSHIP.

TO THS EDITOH. Sir, —Mr H. Chapman’s letter calls for some notice. Jit Chapman says that he was (handingimmediately behind Wallace, and ho is positive, the ball passed between that player and M r Seay. Your reporter was between Mr Borrows and Mr Seay, nearer to the latter—only a few feet from him. Mr Seay 'was beside the fence, his back torvards the pavilion. To avoid tho ball Wallace moved slightly backwards toward Mr Seay—his face to the cast —and the ball passed his front. He bent himself slightly to make sure, and at the same, moment brought his racket round with a Aide against his right leg. Had the ball, going at a great pace, touched Wallace or his racket its course would have been deflected—it went straight through. I noticed Mr Goss, jun., seated almost directly in lino with the eastern side line. Mr Chapman believes that the ball struck Wallace’s racket, and he also heard Mr Goss say that he “thought” it did so. A “thought” does not count. But the position is this : The central umpire, who alono had jurisdiction, did not detect any breach. Had he done so ho would have given his decision. Not noticing anything, he was libt called to decide, as the opposing players did not appeal. -It was nof until Mr Seay illegally interfered that any doubt arose. That stood tip *vnd stated clearly that the ball struck Wallace, mid indicated the region of the front, waist-belt with his hand, so as Wallace’s face was turned away from Mr Seay the ball did not pass between Messrs Wallace and Seay —everyone know# that, except those who don’t want to. Messrs Chapman, Goss, and Seay di ffer as to what the ball struck —the player or his racket. "Mr Chapman characterises it as “sheer nonsense” fo accept the word of a good sportsman. Mr Wallace made no sign or fuss; he acted the sportsman. May I inform Mr Chapman that in big tennis it sometimes happens that where an umpire errs in giving the stroke to the wrong player the matter is rectified at the request or with tho consent of the player wrongly credited. When players mutually and pleasantly agree about any doubtful point the umpire who knows hia business gracefully falls into line. Under the laws of the game nothing arose to call for the central umpire’s verdict. If he saw no breach the score was 50-15. The interference of any line umpire should have been ignored. 1 am, etc.. Your Eei-orter. January 6.

This article text was automatically generated and may include errors. View the full page to see article in its original form.
Permanent link to this item

https://paperspast.natlib.govt.nz/newspapers/ESD19150107.2.7.1

Bibliographic details

LAWN TENNIS CHAMPIONSHIP., Issue 15694, 7 January 1915

Word Count
427

LAWN TENNIS CHAMPIONSHIP. Issue 15694, 7 January 1915

  1. New formats

    Papers Past now contains more than just newspapers. Use these links to navigate to other kinds of materials.

  2. Hierarchy

    These links will always show you how deep you are in the collection. Click them to get a broader view of the items you're currently viewing.

  3. Search

    Enter names, places, or other keywords that you're curious about here. We'll look for them in the fulltext of millions of articles.

  4. Search

    Browsed to an interesting page? Click here to search within the item you're currently viewing, or start a new search.

  5. Search facets

    Use these buttons to limit your searches to particular dates, titles, and more.

  6. View selection

    Switch between images of the original document and text transcriptions and outlines you can cut and paste.

  7. Tools

    Print, save, zoom in and more.

  8. Explore

    If you'd rather just browse through documents, click here to find titles and issues from particular dates and geographic regions.

  9. Need more help?

    The "Help" link will show you different tips for each page on the site, so click here often as you explore the site.

Working