Article image
Article image
Article image
Article image
This article displays in one automatically-generated column. View the full page to see article in its original form.


BRUCE. The following retiring councillors were returned unopposed : —Mr H. M. Driver, Clarendon Riding; Mr D. Gardyne, inn.. Glenlodi Riding; Mr W. Bell, Waihol; 1 Riding; Messrs T. Scott and T. H. Rus sell, Tokomairiro Riding; Mr D. Boyd. Matau Riding; Mr Richard W. Sinclair, Kaitangata Riding. Mr Thomas W. Hitchon will be opposed by Mr John Adam for Mount Stuart Riding; Mr Jasper Clark will be opposed by Mr W- J. Asher for Crichton Riding. Four candidates have been nominated for the two vacancies in Balmoral Riding—Messrs E. Kiijg (a retiring councillor), George Moore, John Begg, and G. E. Cross. ■ WAIKOUAITI. The following nominations were received : —Hawksbury Riding.—Messrs James M'Gill and Allan Scott Orbell (reelected). Merton Riding.—Mr George E. Charlton. Blueskin Riding.—Messrs Michael Dillon, Alexander Kilpatrick, Charles King, Colin Allan M'Lpughlan, Michael Michelson, and Thomas Burns White nominated. Two councillors are to be elected. North-east Valley.— Messrs Edward Laley and Peter John Marfell nominated. CLUTHA. The nominations for the six ridings at which elections will be held are as follow :—Clinton. —Messrs James C. Begg, D. A. M‘Laugh!in. Clydevale.—Messrs C. F. Overton, E. F. Bennett. Gatlins. —Messrs T. Barr, J. Ford, T. M’Ginnis, Richardson, N. Nicol, W. S. Thomson. Glenkenich.—Messrs J. W. Cooper, A. M'lntyre. Pomahaka.—Messrs W. Miller, J. S. Murney, IT. E. Steel. WAIHEMO. The following candidates have been nominated : —Blue Mountain Riding (two members). —Messrs T. H. Pilbrow, T. Rendall, T. M‘Lay. Meadowbank Riding (one member). —Messrs H. O’Neill and D. Sutherland. Bushey Riding.—Mr T. Muir (unopposed). Goodwood Riding (one member). —Messrs R, Cameron and F. M'Callum. Dunback Riding (one member). —Messrs A. M'Lennan and D. M. Philip. Green Valley Riding (one member). —Messrs H. Bayly and W. Aubrey. Macraes Riding (two members). — Messrs G. Clark and J. O’Connells

This article text was automatically generated and may include errors. View the full page to see article in its original form.
Permanent link to this item

Bibliographic details

COUNTY COUNCIL ELECTIONS, Evening Star, Issue 15640, 3 November 1914

Word Count

COUNTY COUNCIL ELECTIONS Evening Star, Issue 15640, 3 November 1914