Article image
Article image
Article image
Article image
This article displays in one automatically-generated column. View the full page to see article in its original form.


Auckland. — Polling in tho Mayoral election resulted :-— Mr. Gunson, 8807 ; Mr. Tudehope rf 5752. In the City Council election the whole of the six candidates on the Labour ticket appear on the list of unsuccessful candidates. Mks E. Melville was re-elected, second on the poll. Dr. Florence Keller headed tho poll for the Hospital Board election. Birkenhead. — Mr. J. P.' M'Phail was returned as Mayor. Cambridge.— For the Mayoralty, Mr. Welle was re-elected by a majority of 160. Councillors elected were :— Messrs. Care, Bell, Middleton, Browning, Moorehouse, Bycroft, Priestley, Anderson, and Hunter. Auckland Harbour Board representative for Central Waikato, Mr. Francis Queen, farmer, To Awa-mutu, who' defeated Mr. Dickinson by 62 votes and Mr. Allen by 311. Dargaville. — Mr. M'Lean was returned as Mayor unopposed. For the council, Messrs. H. Norgrove, J. H. Spragg, R. A. Jackson, D. L. Ross, and J. Frost were elected, and Messrs. W. Allen and H. G. Anderson will have the votes recounted to-day for sixth place. Dannevirke.— Four new councillors have been elected to the council, which now consists of Messrs. Menefy, Drummond, Armstrong, Anderson, Ashcroft, Carston, Dobson. Fraser, and Stewart. Eltham. — Result of the Mayoralty election : Mr. B. Dive, 267 j Mr. G. H. Buckeridge, 241. Foxton. — Council election : Messrs. Henderson, Freeman, Whibley, Thompson, M'Coll, Bryant,' Coley, Stevenson, and Simmons were elected. There were twelve candidates. Gore.— Mr. D. M'Dougall was elected Mayor. Hastings. — Mayoral election : Mr.i W. Hart, 1295 ; Mr. J T. Blake, 1030. Harbour Board : Mr. Lane, 1528 ; Mr. A. A. George, 758. All the old councillors were returned with the exception that Messrs. Adams and Martell replace Messrs. Holderness (retired) and Blake (Mayoral candidate). Marton. — Mayoralty election : Mr. F. C. Wilson, 211} Mr. R. E. Beckett, 207. Council : Messrs. E. Lloyd, J. F. Sicely, F. Spencer, ,A. Way, J. H. Miles, P. Hunter. There were nineteen nominations. Mataura.— Mr. F. W. Brown was returned ac Mayor. Oha/kune. — Mayoral resnlt : Mr. J. A. Butler, 212; Mr. T. H. Kieley, 193. Otahuhu. — The Mayoral election resulted in the return of Mr. James Atkinson. Pahiatua. — The election yesterday resulted in the return of four old councillors—Messrs. J. D. Wilson, T. F. Hewat, A. Weston, and D. P. DavidBon. and five new men — Messrs. T. W. Manifold, J. K. Carpenter, A.. Ross, W. J. Palmer, and L. T. Herbert. It waft the first biennial contest for six years. Thames.— Mayoralty : Mr. H. Lowe (re-elected), 684; Mr. G. Cribb, 427. Taihape. — Mr. A. L. Arrowsmith was returned as Mayor unopposed. Tauranga.— Mayoral contest: Mr. C. E. MacMillan 361, Mr. J. C. Adams 299. Councillors: Messrs. T. Tanner, G. Brown, Wilding^ Castaing, Pemberton, Whiting, H. I. Day, Green, and Budger. Waipawa.— All the old council was returned, with the exception of Mr. Sebley, Avho is replaced by Mr. Tricklebank. / Woodville.— Messrs. Franklin, Pickering, Turnbull, Giles, E. and J. Harding, Hutching, Nicholas, and Wood were elected councillors. [Other results are published on page 3 of this issue.]

This article text was automatically generated and may include errors. View the full page to see article in its original form.
Permanent link to this item

Bibliographic details

FURTHER RESULTS IN OTHER PLACES, Evening Post, Volume lxxxix, Issue 100, 29 April 1915

Word Count

FURTHER RESULTS IN OTHER PLACES Evening Post, Volume lxxxix, Issue 100, 29 April 1915