Article image
Article image
Article image
Article image
This article displays in one automatically-generated column. View the full page to see article in its original form.


Tlie elections are now over, and we append a correct list of the new House of Representatives. Tn glancing over the list, the first; tbing 'which strikes the reader is the very large proportion of bow names, no Itss than :£3 members out of the 74 being gentlemen who did not hold seats in the late House. 0£ these live have previously held seats in the llotise of Representatives, and one in the Legislative Council. Several very familiar names are missing, and we fail to see in the list of new men, "the names of those iicted to take the same position in political life as those whuui they have replaced. Amongst the most prominent of the names missing from the new roii are those of Jollie, Wilson, Carleton, Rich.munil, Moorhuuse, Wells, Swan, Travers, Stevens, Tancred, Featherston, Taylor, Borlase, Graham and Itich. With a House composed of more than half new men, it is of couise utterly impossible to speculate with auy degree of certaiuty on the state of parties ; but, judging from the previous votes of the old members-, and the election speeches or the new ones, we should imagine that there are about 32 avowed Ministerialists, -i-t who would vote against the Government on a want of confidence cjuestion, and S who are doubtful, not having iv any way committed themselves to an expression of opinion. In addition to the 74 names given below, the names of four Maori members will have to be added to complete the roll of the House : — AVCKLAXJ>. City East — Vogel • City West — Gillies and Williamson PaPnell— Wood Newton — Swanson Onehuuga — O'liorke Monganui — M'Leod Marsden — Munro Kodney — Farnell Waitemata — Henderson Eden — Creighton Franklyn— Clark and Buckland Waikato — M 'Pherson Thames— O'Neill East Coast — Kelly TAEAXAKL. Xew Plymouth — Kelly Grey and Bell — Carrington Egmont— Gisborne mawke's bay. Xapier —^M*Lean Clive — Ormond WELLINGTON. City — Pearee and Hunter Hutt— Fitzherbert Wairarapa — Bunny and Andrew Country District — Brandon ¦ Manawatu — Johnston Wanganui — Bryee Rangitikei — Fox NELSOX. City — Curtis and lagbtband Motueka — Monro Collingwood — Collins Cheviot — Inglis Suburbs — Richardson Waimea — Shepherd MARLBOROCCH. Pieton — Kenny Wairan — Eyes fASTFRBCRV. Chi'istehureh East — Wakefield Christchurch West — Richardson Avon — Rolleston Heatheote— Hall Akaroa — Rhodes Ashley — Brown Kaiapoi — St udholm Lyttelton — Peacocke Stlwyn — Reeves Coleridge — Karslake Timaru — Stafford Gladstone — Parker OTAGO. Dunedin — Bathgate and Reynolds Waitaki— Steward Dunstan — Shepherd Mount Ida — Mervyn Waikaoui ti — M 'Lean Port Chalmers — Macandrew Roslyn — Driver- ; •' ' ~- Caversham — Cantrell " - • Taieri — Reid Bruce — Murray Tuapeka — Brown Clutha — Thomson Wakatipu — Haughton Wakaia — Bradshaw Mataura. — Bell . •• Riverton — M'Gillivray Wallace^ — Webster lnvereargill — C'alder WESTLAXD. Biiller— O'Connor Grey Valley — Harrison Hokftika— White Totara— Tribe

This article text was automatically generated and may include errors. View the full page to see article in its original form.
Permanent link to this item

Bibliographic details

THE NEW PARLIAMENT., Evening Post, Volume VII, Issue 16, 27 February 1871

Word Count

THE NEW PARLIAMENT. Evening Post, Volume VII, Issue 16, 27 February 1871