Article image
Article image
Article image
Article image
This article displays in one automatically-generated column. View the full page to see article in its original form.


IN NEW PARLIAMENT. TWENTY NEW MEMBERS. EIGHT OLD HANDS BACK AGAIN. Eight of the twenty new members have, previously won Parliamentary honours, viz.,.Messrs. H. M. Campbell," H. G. Dickie, R. W. Smith, D. Jones, E. P. Lee, J. R. and A. Hamilton, and Sir Joseph Ward. Appended are biographical sketches of these and the other dozen new Parliamentary members: — MR. D. S. REID. Mr. D. S. Reid has captured the Waikato seat from Mr. F. Lye, who held it for one term. Mr. Reid is a native of the Waikato, and has been farming at Tuhikaramea for about 50 years. At present he occupies the position of chairman of the Waipa County Council, and he is a member of the No. 2 District Highways Board and of the Central Power Board. Mr. Reid has always taken a keen interest in all local body work and all kinds of sport. MR. D. JONES. Mr. David Jones, who represented Kaiapoi during the 1919-22 Parliament and was then defeated by the Hon. D. Buddo, has now come back to the House as the Reform member for Ellesmere. He was chairman of the Parliamentary Committee which recommended the establishment of the Meat Producers' Board, and on the formation of the board was elected chairman, a position which he still holds. After his defeat at the 1922 election he went to Great Britain on behalf of the board in connection with the Empire Exhibition and other matters. MR. E. P. LEE. "Still another member to win back his seat is Mr. E. P. Lee, who was a Cabinet Minister in the 1919-22 Parliament, then holding the portfolios of Minister of Justice, Minister of Industries and Commerce and Minister-in-Charge of Police and Prisons Departments, and Minister of Internal Affairs. He is a solicitor of Oamaru. Mr. Lee lost the Oamaru seat at the last election to Mr. Macpherson, but has now turned the tables. MR. J. R. HAMILTON. Mr. J. R. Hamilton's political career, has been of the "in again, out again" variety. In 1911 and 1914 he unsuccessfully contested the Awarua seat. Then, in 1919, he tried again and defeated Sir Joseph Ward by 3100 votes to 2323, only to lose the seat to Mr. P. de la Perrelle in 1922. Undaunted, Mr. Hamilton came to the fore again this election and was rewarded by securing the Awarua seat for the Government, by defeating Mr. de la Perrelle by 233 votes. Mr. Hamilton is a resident of Winton. He was born in Forest Hill. Southland, and educated there. He was a partner in the firm of Hamilton and Co., his brother, Mr. Adam Hamilton, who has been returned for Wallace, also being in the firm. Mr. Hamilton was a member of the Dairy Control Board last year. MR. ADAM HAMILTON. . Like that of his brother, Mr. Adam Hamilton's political experience has been one of alternate wins and 'He was elected to the House in 1919, but at. the 1922 election was defeated;by his former opponent, Mr. J. C. Thomson; by 304G votes to 3441. This election, Mr. Hamilton cqntested the Wallace seat 5n the interests'of the Government, and was returned with a majority of 1031 votes, his nearest opponent being Mr. J. M. Mackenzie, the Labour candidate. Mr. Hamilton was born in Southland. 1921 he was appointed a member of the Meat Producers' Board. He is chairman of directors of the Southland Farmers' Co-operative Association (Limited), and a member of the Southland Electric Power Board. MR. W. JONES. The entrance of a Labour candidate in the Marsden contest has enabled Mr. W. Jones to turn the tables against Mr. A. J. Murdock, who beat him by a small majority at the last election. Marsden, therefore, returns to Reform, in whose interest the scat was held for many years by the Hon. F. Mander, who was called to the Upper House when lie retired from the electoral contest at the end of the 1922 Parliament. Mr. Jones is a farmer, and has previously been a storekeeper. lie lias been a conspicuous figure in local public affairs. He was a member of the Wliangarei County Council for nine years (six years as chairman), has been a member of Whangarei Harbour Board for six years, Whangarei Hospital Board for six years, Whangarei High School Board of Governors for six years, Whangarei Technical School Board for six years, and is a member of the' No. 1 Highway District Council and Executive. MR. HENRY HOLLAND. Mr. Henry Holland, C.B.E. (Reform, Christchurch North), was born in Yorkshire, England, in 1859, and came to New Zealand in 1863. He has had a long period of service ■on public 'bodies in Christchurch and for seven years, from 1912 to 1919, was Mayor of the city. He is a member of the Lyttelton Harbour Board and the Christchurch Drainage Board, and was a member of the Christchurch Fire Board for several years. He inaugurated the Canterbury Patriotic Fund and was largely instrumental in the formation of the Canterbury Progress League, of which he was president for several years. At the general election in 1919 Mr. Holland contested the Christchurch South seat as an Independent, and polled 3413 votes against Mr. E. J. Howard, who won the seat with 5088.

This article text was automatically generated and may include errors. View the full page to see article in its original form.
Permanent link to this item

Bibliographic details

WHO'S WHO., Auckland Star, Volume LVI, Issue 262, 5 November 1925

Word Count

WHO'S WHO. Auckland Star, Volume LVI, Issue 262, 5 November 1925