Regulations under the Defence Act, 1909, constituting Military Districts, Groups, and Areas.

## LIVERPOOL, Governor.

ARTHUR WILLIAM DE BRITO SAVILE, Earl of Liverpool, the Governor of the Dominion of New Zealand, do hereby, in exercise and pursuance of the authority conferred upon me by the Defence Act, 1909, make the following regulations under that Act, and declare that they shall come into operation on the twenty-fifth day of September, one thousand nine hundred and sixteen.

## REGULATIONS.

1. The Dominion of New Zealand is hereby divided for the purpose of the Defence Act, 1909, into four districts, to be termed military districts, under the respective designations and with the respective boundaries set forth in the First Schedule hereto.

2. Every military district is hereby divided into groups under the respective designations and with the respective boundaries set forth

in the First Schedule hereto.

3. The provisions of the First Schedule as to boundaries of military districts and groups shall be read subject to the general provisions contained in the Second Schedule hereto.

4. Every group may be divided into such areas and subdivided into such subareas, with such designations and boundaries, as the Com-

mandant from time to time directs.

5. (1.) Clause 5 of the Regulations for the Military Forces of New Zealand, made on the 22nd day of December, 1913, and gazetted on the 23rd day of January, 1914, is hereby revoked, and the military districts, area groups, and areas thereby constituted are hereby abolished.

(2.) All references to military districts or to area groups in the said regulations or in any amendment thereof shall be deemed to be references to the military districts and to the groups respectively as

constituted by these present regulations.

## FIRST SCHEDULE

AUCKLAND MILITARY DISTRICT.

COMPRISING the following groups :-

No. 1 (Auckland) Group.

Comprising the counties of Waitemata, Eden, Manukau, Franklin, and Great Barrier Island, together with Little Barrier Island and all islands in the Hauraki Gulf.

No. 2 (Hauraki) Group.

Comprising the counties of Coromandel, Thames, Ohinemuri, Piako, and Matamata.

No. 17 (Bay of Plenty) Group.

Comprising the counties of Opotiki, Whakatane, Tauranga, Rotorua, and East Taupo.

No. 3 (North Auckland) Group.

Comprising the counties of Mangonui, Whangaroa, Hokianga, Bay of Islands, Whangarei, Hobson, Otamatea, and Rodney.

No. 4 (Waikato) Group.

Comprising the counties of Raglan, Waikato, Waipa, Kawhia, Awakino, Waitomo, and West Taupo.

WELLINGTON MILITARY DISTRICT.

Comprising the following groups :-

No. 5 (Wellington) Group.

Comprising the counties of Hutt and Makara.

No. 6 (Manawatu) Group

Comprising the counties of Horowhenua, Manawatu, Kairanga, Oroua, Pohangina, Kiwitea, and Rangitikei.

No. 7 (Hawke's Bay) Group

Comprising the counties of Hawke's Bay, Waipawa, Waipukurau, and Patangata.

No. 18 (Wairarapa) Group.

Comprising the counties of Featherston, Wairarapa South, Masterton, Castlepoint, Mauriceville, Eketahuna, Pahiatua, Akitio, Weber, Woodville, and Dannevirke.