Memorandum.]

Police Department, Wellington, 22nd February, 1915.

Warrants of Commitment to Military Custody, Cancellation of.

An arrangement has been made with the Defence Department whereby Officers Commanding Districts have been instructed to take the necessary steps to obtain the cancellation of warrants of commitment to military custody in cases where the offenders are known to have left New Zealand with the Expeditionary Force. Members of the Police Force are hereby directed to give them all assistance they may require in the matter.

J. CULLEN, Commissioner of Police.

Police Department, Wellington, 12th February, 1915.

Sale of Unclaimed Property.

It is hereby notified that the undermentioned unclaimed property in the hands of the police at the stations named will be sold by public auction on 13th March, 1915, if not claimed before that date.

Auckland.—Umbrellas, bioycles, watches, purses, articles of jewellery, clothing, &c.

Hamilton.—Bicycle, umbrellas, purses, articles of clothing, &c.

Napier.—Bicycles, articles of jewellery, clothing, &c.

Wanganui.-Bicycles, articles of clothing, &c.

Wellington.—Bicycles, umbrellas, purses, articles of clothing, jewellery, &c.

 ${\it Christchurch}.$ —Bicycles, umbrellas, purses, articles of clothing, jewellery, &c.

Dunedin. — Bioycles, purses, articles of clothing, jewellery, &c.

Invercargill.—Bicycles. purses, tools, &c.

J. CULLEN, Commissioner of Police.

Memorandum.]

Police Department, Wellington, 20th February, 1915.

List of Registering Authorities under the Motor Regulation Act, 1908, and the Distinguishing Letters and Numerals assigned to each.

The following memorandum from the Under-Secretary, Department of Internal Affairs, Wellington, is published for general information, and the list published in *Police Gazette*, 1914, page 374, is to be amended accordingly.

(P. 14/868.)

J. CULLEN, Commissioner of Police.

Department of Internal Affairs, Wellington, 15th February, 1915. Memorandum for the Commissioner of Police.

Motor Regulation Act, 1908.

I have to advise you that the letters "THC" and the numerals "1 to 500" have been assigned to the Thames County Council as suitable distinguishing marks under the Motor Regulation Act, 1908.

J. HISLOP, Under-Secretary.

EXTRACTS FROM NEW ZEALAND GAZETTE.

(From Gazette, 1915, pages 603, 604, 605, 607, and 645.)

Appointing Local Bodies to have Authority throughout Licensing Districts.

LIVERPOOL, Governor

I N pursuance and exercise of the power and authority conferred upon me by the sixty-third section of the Licensing Act, 1908, I, Arthur William de Brito Savile, Earl of Liverpool, the Governor of the Dominion of New Zealand,

do hereby appoint the local bodies named in the Schedule hereto to have authority for the purposes of the Licensing Act throughout the licensing districts respectively named in the said Schedule opposite the name of each such local body respectively, and to make all necessary appointments and to do all things required for the conduct of elections or the taking of a poll of electors, and to have the general administration of the Licensing Act within such licensing districts respectively.

SCHEDULE.

DOIL	ar Chi.		
Name of Local Body.			Name of
Bay of Islands County Counc	:1		Bay of Islands.
Whangarei County Council			Marsden.
Hobson County Council			Kaipara.
Waitemata County Council		**	Waitemata.
Auckland City Council			Auckland.
	**	**	Parnell.
Newmarket Borough Council Onehunga Borough Council	**		Manukau.
Pukekohe Borough Council			Franklin.
Raglan County Council			Raglan.
Coromandel County Council	**		Thames.
Tauranga County Council			Tauranga. Waikato.
Hamilton Borough Council	**		and the same of th
Whakatane County Council		**	Bay of Plenty.
Clifton County Council			Taumarunui.
Gisborne Borough Council	**		Gisborne.
Hawke's Bay County Council			Hawke's Bay.
Napier Borough Council	**		Napier.
Waipawa County Council	**	**	Waipawa.
Pahiatua County Council			Pahiatua.
Wairarapa South County Cou	incil		Wairarapa.
Stratford County Council			Stratford.
New Plymouth Borough Com	ncil		Taranaki.
Eltham Borough Council	**		Egmont.
Patea County Council			Patea.
Wanganui Borough Council		**	Wanganui.
Waimarino County Council	**		Waimarino.
Feilding Borough Council			Oroua.
Marton Borough Council			Rangitikei.
Palmerston North Borough C	ouncil		Palmerston.
Horowhenua County Council			Otaki.
Petone Borough Council			Hutt.
Wellington City Council			Wellington.
Nelson City Council			Nelson.
Waimea County Council			Motueka.
Westport Borough Council	***		Buller.
Greymouth Borough Council			Grey.
Westland County Council			Westland.
Blenheim Borough Council			Wairau.
Amberley Town Board			Hurunui.
Kaiapoi Borough Council			Kaiapoi.
Christchurch City Council			Christchurch.
Paparua County Council			Riccarton.
New Brighton Borough Coun	cil		Avon.
Lyttelton Borough Council			Lyttelton.
Akaroa County Council			Ellesmere.
Malvern County Council			Selwyn.
Timaru Borough Council			Timaru.
Geraldine County Council			Temuka.
Waitaki County Council			Waitaki.
Maniototo County Council			Otago Central.
Dunedin City Council			Dunedin.
Dunedin City Council			Dunedin South.
Port Chalmers Borough Council		Chalmers.	
Lake County Council			Wakatipu.
Wallace County Council	1.6		Wallace.
Southland County Council			Awarua.
Southfalle Country Country	**		TT IS OUT (TCO)

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor, this fifteenth day of February, one thousand nine hundred and fifteen.

A. L. HERDMAN.

Clerks of Licensing Committees appointed.

LIVERPOOL, Governor.

I N pursuance and exercise of the power and authority conferred upon me by the Licensing Act, 1908, I, Arthur William de Brito Savile, Earl of Liverpool, the Governor of the Dominion of New Zealand, do hereby appoint the persons