#### West Coast Inspection District.

Wynndale, Murchison. Mount Burnett, Collingwood. Puponga, Puponga. Owen, Owen River. Brighton, Brighton. Cardiff, Seddonville. Charming Creek, Ngakawau.

Cascade, Burnett's Face. Coal Creek, Seddonville. Hydro, Seddonville.

Glencrag, Buller Gorge.

Westport Coal Co.'s Denniston mines. Westport Coal Co.'s Millerton mines. Westport-Stockton, Ngakawau.

Archer's, Capleston. Clele, Merrijigs. Coghlan's, Capleston. Collins, Murray Creek. Morrisvale, Reefton. Defiance, Reefton. Burke's Creek, Reefton.

Waitahu Colliery, Reefton. Burnwell (Honey's), (Times Street), Reefton. Schultz Creek, Twelve Mile.

Hilltop, Ten Mile. Kaye's, Ten Mile.

Bellbird, Ten Mile. Hunter's, Ten Mile. Briandale, Ten Mile.

Cliffside (Moore's), Nine Mile.

Bellvue, Rapahoe. Cain's, Rapahoe. Jubilee, Rapahoe. Baddeley's, Dunollie. Braehead, Dunollie. Castlepoint, Dunollie.

Hunter's, Rewanui. Moody Creek, Dunollie.

New Point Elizabeth, Dunollie.

Fiery Cross, Dunollie. Smith's, Dunollie. Old Runanga, Rewanui.

Spark's, Rewanui. State Collieries (Liverpool and James).

Goldlight, Rewanui. Blackball, Blackball. Blackball Creek, Blackball.

Paparoa, Roa. Dobson, Dobson. Wallsend, Brunnerton.

Price's, Brighton.

# Southern Inspection District.

Kaitangata, Kaitangata. Wairaki, Ohai. Birchwood, Ohai. Linton, Ohai.

Black Diamond, Ohai. Black Lion, Ohai. Star, Ohai.

# (c) LIST OF MINES REQUIRED BY LAW TO USE SAFETY-LAMPS.

The following is a list of the mines as at the 31st December, 1938, required by law to use safety-lamps.

#### Northern Inspection District.

Pukemiro, Pukemiro-Throughout South Mine Section. Rotowaro, Rotowaro—Throughout No. 1 and No. 3 Mines. Glen Afton, Glen Afton-Main headings. Renown, Renown—Nos. 1, 2, 3, and 4 North Sections.

### West Coast Inspection District.

Dobson, Dobson. Spark's, Rewanui. State Mine (Liverpool No. 2), Rewanui. Moody Creek, Dunollie. Old Runanga (No. 2 Section), Rewanui. Kaye's, Ten Mile. Paparoa, Roa.

Wallsend, Brunnerton. Millerton (Old Dip Section), Millerton. Owen, Owen River. Strongman, Nine Mile. Wynndale, Murchison. Hunter's, Rewanui.

# Southern Inspection District.

Kaitangata, Kaitangata. Wairaki, Ohai. Birchwood, Ohai. Linton, Ohai.

Black Diamond, Ohai. Black Lion, Ohai. Star, Ohai.

#### (d) Dangerous Occurrences reported.

Of the thirty-seven dangerous occurrences reported during 1938 to the Inspectors of Coal-mines, twenty were of actual fires or of heating in underground workings.

Four were in the Rotowaro Mine, three in the Linton Mine, and three in the McDonald Mine.

There were four ignitions of fire-damp in West Coast collieries and nine reports of accumulations of fire-damp. Owing to a heavy crushing movement in the Mossbank No. 3 Mine the workmen had to be withdrawn and, at two West Coast mines, workmen had to be withdrawn temporarily through inrushes of water.