Item 8: Question of prohibiting, under the provisions of the Covenant, the supply of arms and war material to belligerents.

Item 9: Amendment of the Covenant of the League of Nations in order to bring it into harmony with the Pact of Paris: Examination of the Treaty of Non-Aggression and Conciliation concluded at Rio de Janeiro on 10th October, 1933.

Item 26: Application of the principles of the Covenant of the League of Nations.

Election of Three Non-permanent Members of the Council.

The President announced in this connection that as the Assembly agenda also contained an Item 10, Report of the Special Committee on the Composition of the Council, he proposed to consult the General Committee on the steps to be taken for the election at the present session of three nonpermanent Members of the Council. Such consultation would in no way affect any arrangements made by the Secretary-General to communicate to delegations a list of candidates and such applications for re-eligibility as might be received.

On the afternoon of the 22nd September the Committees met to elect their Chairman. The following were elected :---

First Committee	••	••	••		M. Limburg (Netherlands).
Second Committee	••	• •	• •		M. van Langenhove (Belgium).
Fourth Committee	••	••			Dr. Guani (Uruguay).
Fifth Committee	••	••	• •		M. Schmidt (Estonia).
Sixth Committee	••	••	••	• •	M. Motta (Switzerland).

The Agenda Committee met later and elected as its Chairman M. Beck (Poland). Subsequently the Third Committee elected as its Chairman Dr. Lange (Norway), one of the League's veterans. Dr. Lange took part in the Assembly of 1920.

On the 24th September the Assembly, in accordance with its Rules of Procedure, elected its six Vice-Presidents, and its choice fell on the first delegates of France, the United Kingdom, Yugoslavia, Canada, the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, and Italy.

As already stated, however, Italy had not appointed a delegation and consequently she took no part in the work of the Assembly.

The General Committee of the Assembly was then constituted. It consisted of the President, the Vice-Presidents, the Chairman of Committees (including the Chairman of the Agenda Committee, Mr. Beck, Poland, and the Credentials Committee, M. Tudela of Peru. Its primary role is to assist the President in the general direction of the work of the Assembly.

ELECTION OF THREE NON-PERMANENT MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL.

On Monday, the 28th September, the Assembly proceeded to the election of three Member States to fill non-permanent Council seats due to be vacated by Argentina, Australia, and Denmark. The result of the ballot, which was secret, showed that Bolivia was elected by 49 votes and New Zealand and Sweden by 48 votes each. New Zealand therefore succeeded to a seat which has been occupied in turn by Canada, the Irish Free State, and Australia. I should mention that our delegation had not only received many assurances of warm support, but some delegations expressed after the election particular satisfaction that New Zealand head been elected to fill one of the vacant seats. In entering upon his task the New Zealand representative on the Council will be called upon to visit Geneva at least four times annually in order to take part in the regular sessions of the Council. Indeed, if the experience of recent years is to be repeated, his attendance there will be still more frequent. The Council meetings vary in length of time according to the urgency and nature of the matters to be discussed, but each meeting involves an absence from headquarters of seldom less than eight days under normal conditions. In addition, account must be taken of the annual session of the Assembly in September, lasting usually abour seventeen to twenty-one days.

In the section of this report, which is devoted to the First Committee, I have dealt with the question of the composition of the Council. The report of the First Committee on this question was in due course laid before the Assembly, which approved of the Committee's conclusions, including the creation of two additional non-permanent seats (Documents A. 48 and A. 52). The Assembly therefore proceeded on the 8th October to elect Member States to fill the new seats, with the result that China and Latvia were elected. In consequence the Council of the League now consists of four permanent and eleven non-permanent Members, namely :---

Bolivia		• •		••				(Non-permanent).
United 1	Kingdom	. of Great	Britain	and Nor	thern Irela	nd	• •	
			2 main	and 101	uncin riela	una -	• •	(Permanent).
	• •	• •	• •	• •	• •	• •	• •	(Non-permanent).
-	••	• •	• •	• •		• •		(Non-permanent).
Ecuador								
France				•••	••	• •	• •	(Non-permanent).
		••	• •	••	· ·	• •	• •	(Permanent).
	• •	•••	• •		• •			(Permanent).
Latvia	• •		• •					(Non-permanent).
New Zea	aland					••		
Poland			• •	••	• •	••	•••	(Non-permanent).
		• •	•••	••	••	••		(Non-permanent).
Rouman	ua		• •		• •			(Non-permanent).
Spain .							••	
Sweden				••	• •	• •	••	(Non-permanent).
		•••	••	••	••	••		(Non-permanent).
Turkey		• •	••	• •	••			(Non-permanent).
Union of	f Soviet 8	Socialist .	Republic	8				(Depresent)
			- r aono	~	••	••	••	(Permanent).