The society has formed observing sections for special purposes, such as variable stars, sun-spots, planetary observations, comet-searching, star-colours, aurora and zodiacal light and meteors. All are producing valuable results, and it may be fairly said that New Zealand is producing, as a result of this systematic work, astronomical observations of world-wide interest. The southern latitude and the longitude nearly twelve hours different from Europe makes the country favourable for astronomical students.

"New Zealand Nautical Almanac."

An article on the Dominion time-service arrangements, giving full particulars of all the time signals supplied by the Dominion Observatory, was prepared for and published in the *New Zealand Nautical Almanac*.

Summer Time Act.

The Summer Time Act, 1929, provided for the time in New Zealand being half an hour in advance of New Zealand standard time for the period beginning at 2 a.m. New Zealand standard time on Sunday, 1932, October 9th, and ending at 2 a.m. New Zealand standard time, on Sunday, 1933, March 19.

SEISMOLOGY.

General.

During the year 1932 continuous seismological records were obtained at the Dominion Observatory, Wellington; the Magnetic Observatory, Christchurch; and from subsidiary stations at Suva, Arapuni, New Plymouth, Hastings, and Takaka.

On January 14th a consignment of Milne-Jaggar seismographs of the vertical boom type was received from Dr. T. A. Jaggar, Honolulu. One of these seismographs was immediately erected at this Observatory, and during the course of the year several new stations were established, and the older type Milne-Jaggar seismographs were replaced at some of the existing stations.

Special precautions have been taken at this Observatory to enable the seismographs to continue recording throughout a severe earthquake should such occur. All Milne-Jaggar seismographs are being fitted with devices to enable them to record a severe shock without being dismantled.

Seismological Stations.

New seismological stations were established at Chatham Islands, Tuai, Bunnythorpe, and Greymouth. The Milne seismograph at the Magnetic Observatory, Christchurch, was transferred to the Chatham Islands in January, and placed in charge of the Superintendent of the Chatham Islands Radio Station (Mr. L. J. Elliston). Owing to difficulties regarding the erection of the seismograph, regular records were not obtained until August. In September a Milne-Jaggar was erected at Tuai and placed in charge of the Resident Electrical Engineer (Mr. W. H. Gregory). In October another Milne-Jaggar was established at the Bunnythorpe substation, in charge of Mr. W. A. Waters, Chief Engineer of the Manawatu-Oroua Electric-power Board. In November a third Milne-Jaggar seismograph was erected at Greymouth in charge of Mr. T. A. Johnston, District Engineer, Public Works Department. The following is a complete list of seismological stations operating in New Zealand and surrounding islands on 31st December, 1932.

Charles and the second s	Position.				
Station.	Latitude.		Longitude.		Instruments. Person or Institution in Charge.
	o	,	•	,	
Apia	13	48 S.	171	47 W.	Wiechert, three components Apia Observatory.
Suva	18	9 S.	178	26 E.	Milne, twin-boom Miss Mune.
Arapuni	38	5 S.	175	39 E.	Milne, EW District Engineer, Publ Works Department.
Tuai	38	48 S.	177	9 E.	Milne-Jaggar Resident Electrical Enginee Public Works Department
New Plymouth	39	4 S.	174	4 E. •	Wood-Anderson H. W. Todd. Milne-Jaggar C. E. Morshead.
Hastings	39	38 S.	176	53 E.	Milne-Jaggar H. de Denne.
*Dannevirke	40	12 S.	176	7 E.	Milne-Jaggar L. Bastings, M.Sc.
Bunnythorpe	40	17 S.	175	36 E.	Milne-Jaggar W. A. Waters.
Takaka	40	17 S.	172	48 E.	Imamura, three components W. J. Smith.
~					Wood-Anderson Galitzin-Wilip
Wellington	41	17 S.	174	46 E. ≺	{ Milne-Shaw, two components } Milne-Jaggar Ishimoto Clinograph
*Seatoun	41	19 S.	174	48 E.	Invented Bondulum
Greymouth		25 S.		13 E.	Milno Togger
*Ģlenmuick		54 S.	173	9 E.	Inverted Pendulum A. S. Westland.
Christchurch	43 3	32 S.	172	37 E. <	Wood-Anderson Galiztin-Wilip, three components Magnetic Observatory.
Chatham Islands	43 (57 S.	176	31 W.	Milne L. J. Elliston.

* Privately owned stations.