- J. Bennetts, J. B. McKinlay, representing settlers and others served by the Roxburgh Branch line.
- J. O'Connell, W. Ritchie, representing settlers served by the Dunback Branch Railway-line.
- A. H. Allan, representing Dunedin Chamber of Commerce.
- J. Preston, representing provincial executive, New Zealand Farmers' Union. J. Logan, representing Taieri County Council.
- A. Y. Hendry, representing Outram Town Board.
- A. J. Stewart, representing fruitgrowers, Outram district.
- W. E. McLean, Mosgiel.
- A. C. Cameron, President, Dunedin Chamber of Commerce. J. R. Fairbairn, Dunedin Chamber of Commerce.

- H. P. West, Secretary, Dunedin Chamber of Commerce.
 H. P. West, Secretary, Dunedin Chamber of Commerce.
 F. G. Duncan, Barrister and Solicitor, Dunedin.
 J. R. Wilson, T. Maginess, representing Clutha County Council.
 G. J. Errington, representing Otago Expansion League.
- L. G. Hill (Secretary), representing Dunedin Jockey Club.
- J. Pickard, District Traffic Manager, New Zealand Government Railways, Invercargill.
- D. E. Neave, representing Ratepayers' Association, Hakataramea.
- B. R. Sword, District Traffic Manager, New Zealand Government Railways, Dunedin.
- C. J. Graham, Works Manager, New Zealand Government Railway Workshops, Hillside.
- H. A. Penn, District Traffic Manager, New Zealand Government Railways, Christchurch.
- G. F. Wright, J. Deans, D. J. Hawke, representing the Malvern and Tawera County Councils.
- J. Binstead, Locomotive Engineer, New Zealand Government Railways, Christchurch.
- C. M. Williams, E. A. Woodfield, J. E. Horrell, representing settlers on the Evreton Branch.
- H. E. Hamilton, District Storekeeper, New Zealand Government Railways, Addington.
- R. S. Kent, Divisional Superintendent (South Island), New Zealand Government Railways, Christchurch.
- W. Machin, N. Francis (President), representing Canterbury Chamber of Commerce, Christchurch.
- Commerce, Unristenurch.
 C. A. Jenkins, Works Manager, New Zealand Government Railway Workshops, Addington.
 W. Stalker, H. Tallott, representing the Rangiora County Council.
 A. K. Drew, County Clerk, Foxton.
 J. Linklater, M.P., representing Foxton Harbour Board.
 W. A. Tate, Deputy Mayor, Greytown.
 H. C. Cook, Chairman, Greytown Co-operative Dairy Co., Greytown.
 J. A. Nash, M.P., representing Foxton Harbour Board.

- J. A. Nash, M.P., representing Foxton Harbour Board. A. Robertson, F. W. Fagan, representing residents of the Springburn district.
- W. D. Hunt, Company Manager, Wellington.H. W. B. Littlewood, J. J. Goldfinch, representing Raetihi and Ohakune Borough Councils.
- R. L. Wigley (Manager), H. Coxhead, representing Mount Cook Tourist Co., Timaru.

Written evidence was submitted by the following :---

- R. Forrester, General Carrier, Kaikoura.
- W. G. H. McLeod, Chairman, Amalgamated Society of Railway Servants, Whangarei; P. Wiles, Chairman, New Zealand Locomotive Enginedrivers, Firemen, and Cleaners' Association, Whangarei (on behalf of the societies mentioned).

James Carr, Director, New Zealand Wheat-growers' Association, Rakaia. E. S. Wilson, Secretary, Dunedin Timber-merchants' Association, Dunedin.