1926. NEW ZEALAND.

FIRE BRIGADES OF THE DOMINION

(REPORT ON THE) FOR THE YEAR ENDED 30TH JUNE, 1926, BY INSPECTOR OF FIRE BRIGADES.

Presented to both Houses of the General Assembly by Command of His Excellency.

The Inspector of Fire Brigades to the Hon. the Minister of Internal Affairs.

Sir.— Office of the Inspector of Fire Brigades, Wellington, 14th August, 1926.

Herewith I have the honour to lay before you my eighteenth annual report for the year ended the 30th June, 1926, relative to the working of the Fire Brigades Act, and including matter in connection there with

During the year three new fire districts have been constituted—viz., Pukekohe, on the 30th November, 1925; Wellington, 20th April, 1926; and Mount Roskill, 28th May, 1926. Following is a list of the forty-six fire districts now constituted:—

Auckland	Hastings	New Plymouth	Taumarunui
Balclutha	Hawera	Oamaru	Tauranga
Christchurch	Hokitika	Ohakune	Te Aroha
Dannevirke	Invercargill	Onehunga	Timaru
Dargaville	Kaiapoi	Otaki	Waihi
Dunedin	Kaitangata	Pahiatua	Wairoa
Eltham	Lawrence	Palmerston North	Waitara
Feilding	Levin	Petone	Wanganui
Foxton	Masterton	Port Chalmers	Wellington
Gisborne	Milton	${f Pukekohe}$	Westport
Greymouth	Mount Roskill	Rotorua	Whangarei.
Hamilton	Napier		0

Brigades working under Fire Board control, their stations and equipment, were officially inspected as follows:--

Auckland-May 27 and 28, 1926. Balclutha---March 10, 1926. Christehurch—May 13 and 14, 1926. Dannevirke-May 5, 1926. Dargaville-January 21, 1926. Dunedin-March 6, 1926. Eltham—October 13, 1925. Feilding-May 6, 1926. Foxton-April 27, 1926 Gisborne—March 26, 1926. Greymouth—December 1, 1925. Hamilton-January 28, 1926. Hastings-June 15, 1926. Hawera—December 14, 1925. Hokitika—December 3, 1925. Invercargill---March 8, 1926. Kaiapoi—May 12, 1926. Kaitangata—March 9, 1926. Lawrence-March 11, 1926, Levin—April 26, 1926.

Otaki—February 11, 1926.
Palmerston North—January 7, 1926.
Petone—June 21, 1926.
Port Chalmers—March 4, 1926.
Rotorua—November 16, 1925.
Taumarunui—February 15, 1926.
Tauranga—November 12, 1925.
Te Aroha—November 10, 1925.
Timaru—December 7, 1925.
Waihi—November 11, 1925.
Waitara—October 29, 1925.
Wanganui—December 16, 1925.
Westport—December 2, 1925.

Whangarei—January 20, 1926.

Masterton—April 13, 1926. Milton—March 12, 1926. Napier—June 14, 1926.

Oamaru-May 11, 1926.

New Plymouth—October 28, 1925.

Ohakune—February 16, 1926.

1-H. 6A.