Committee thereupon recommended the Government to bring in amending legislation. The final outcome was the New Zealand University Amendment Act of 1914. This Act placed the control of the University in the hands of three bodies— a Senate, a Board of Studies, and a General Court of Convection.

Establishment of Board of Studies.

Financial provisions of 1914 Act.

The Board of Studies was to consist of five representatives from each of the Professorial Boards.

The financial provisions of the Act are of great importance. These are as follows:—

- (1.) The Minister of Finance shall, in each year, without further appropriation than this Act, pay out of the Consolidated Fund to the four affiliated institutions of the University the sums named below:
 - (a.) To the Auckland University College the sum of five thousand pounds in addition to the sum of four thousand pounds as provided in the Auckland University College Act, 1882;
 - (b.) To the Victoria University College the sum of five thousand pounds in addition to the sum of four thousand pounds as provided in the Victoria College Act, 1905;

(c.) To Canterbury College the sum of two thousand pounds:

(d.) To the University of Otago the sum of five thousand pounds.

(2.) Notwithstanding anything in the Land Act, 1908, the Minister of Finance shall, out of the money available for the purposes of education under sections two hundred and sixty-three and two hundred and sixty-four thereof, pay, without further appropriation than this Act, one-seventh part thereof to the four affiliated institutions and to the University of New Zealand, in the following proportions:

(a.) To each of the institutions—namely, the Auckland University College, the Victoria University College, Canterbury College, and the University of Otago—for the purpose of increasing the efficiency of such institutions, one-sixth part of the last-named sum; and

- (b.) To the University of New Zealand, one-third of such sum, in trust, to be distributed to the four colleges or affiliated institutions as occasion may arise and as the Senate shall decide, for the support of libraries, for the establishment of new chairs, schools, or faculties, and in other ways for extending the work or usefulness of such colleges or institutions.
- (3.) In respect of all voluntary contributions received by any University college or institution affiliated to the University of New Zealand from any local authority or from any person (not being an Education Board, or a secon ary school or a technical school, or a University college, or the University of New Zealand), and available for such purposes of the institution as may be defined by regulations, subsidies shall, without further appropriation than this Act (but subject to such other conditions as may be prescribed), be payable out of the Consolidated Fund to such colleges or institutions as follows:
 - (a.) A subsidy at the rate of one pound for every pound of voluntary contributions in money (other than bequests).
 - (b.) A subsidy at the rate of ten shillings for every pound of bequest of money: Provided that in no case shall the subsidy in respect of any single bequest exceed five hundred pounds.
 - (c.) A subsidy at the rate of ten shilling for every pound of the value of voluntary contributions (whether gifts or bequests) of land or of apparatus or material: Provided that the Minister shall be the sole judge of the value of such land, apparatus, or material, and of its suitability for the purpose for which it is given; and no subsidy shall be given unless the Minister is satisfied that such land, apparatus, or material is suitable for such purpose: Provided further that in no case shall the subsidy in respect of any single such gift or bequest exceed five hundred pounds."

Further Government assistance has been given to the University colleges by the New Zealand University Amendment Act (passed in 1919). By the terms of this Act each of the four colleges is to receive an additional annual grant of £2,500, with a further grant of £2,500 made to the Otago Medical School. The Public Expenditure Adjustment Act of 1921-22 reduced these additional grants by roughly, one-third.

The University Senate (or "Council," as then called) was constituted by the New Zealand University Act, 1870, and consisted of twenty persons nominated by the Governor in Council, of whom twelve should be laymen. This constitution continued after the Act of 1874.

In 1902 the Senate was remodelled to consist of—Four persons nominated by the Governor in Council; eight appointed by governing bodies of College Councils (two by each); eight appointed by District Courts of Convocation (two by each); four appointed by Professorial Boards (one by each). This constitution has not been since altered.

Constitution of