1917. NEW ZEALAND.

REPRESENTATION COMMISSION, 1917.

SUMMARY OF REPORT.

Laid on the Table of the House of Representatives by Leave.

THE report of the North and South Island Representation Commissions sitting as a joint Commission has now been received by His Excellency the Governor-General.

The population in fifty cities and boroughs of over 2,000 inhabitants, including those on shipboard, amounted to 538,334 ; and the urban population within five miles limit of the Chief Post-offices of Auckland, Wellington, Christchurch, and Dunedin Cities, exclusive of the population in cities and boroughs of over 2,000 inhabitants within that limit, amounted to 36,343 ; making a total urban population of 574,677, leaving a rural population of 567,404. Having added 28 per cent to the latter figures the total nominal population of the Dominion amounted to 1,300,954. This divided by 76, the total number of members, fixed the quota at 17,118.

It was further ascertained that the total actual population of the North Island amounted to 674,101, equivalent to a nominal population of 766,618. Likewise it was ascertained that the total actual population of the South Island (including Stewart Island) was 467,980, equivalent to a nominal population of 534,336.

A consideration of these figures showed that the number of members to which the North Island was entitled was represented by the figures 44.78, and the South Island 31.22. As the fractional part in the first case was greater than that in the second, the number of members for the North Island was fixed at 45 and that of the South Island at 31. This result increased the number of members for the North Island by three and reduced that of the South Island by a corresponding number.

In accordance with the provisions of the Legislature Act, notifications will shortly be published in the *New Zealand Gazette* describing proposed boundaries of the electoral districts, and giving particulars where maps of the proposed districts may be seen, and also particulars as to the lodging of objections to such proposed boundaries.

The principal effect of the proposed alteration is as follows :---

NORTH ISLAND.

Owing to the changes in incidence of the population of the Dominion during the period which has elapsed since the apportionment of the Dominion into electorates in 1911, it was found that the North Island would gain three members and the South would lose a corresponding number, which, of course, meant the creation of three new electorates in the North and the elimination of three in the South. This could not be done without considerable disturbance of existing electoral boundaries. The preliminary map supplied by the Commission shows, however, that they have been able to adopt these old boundaries to quite a remarkable extent. Of the three new electorates in the North Island, one (Roskill) has been formed in the suburbs of Auckland and is almost entirely an "urban" electorate. It is contiguous to the Eden, Grey Lynn, Parnell, and Manukau Electorates, and is bounded on the south by Manukau Harbour. It comprises portion of the existing Eden and Manukau Electorates, and very small portions of Grey Lynn and Parnell adjoining Mount Eden. The second electorate has been named "Rotorua," and is surrounded by Bay of Plenty, Hawke's Bay, Waimarino, Waikato, and Tauranga Electorates. It is principally made up from Bay of Plenty,

The second electorate has been named "Rotorua," and is surrounded by Bay of Plenty, Hawke's Bay, Waimarino, Waikato, and Tauranga Electorates. It is principally made up from Bay of Plenty, Taumarunui, and Tauranga Electorates, and includes a small portion of Waikato. The third district has been named the "Manawatu," and takes in portion of the Otaki, Rangitikei, and Palmerston Electorates. H_{-48}

With regard to certain alterations of names of electorates in the North Island, they have been made so as to better indicate the localities of the electorates, and the same consideration has led to the adoption of the names of the new electorates.

The only effect that the alterations have made in respect of "wet" and "dry" districts is that it has been found necessary to include in "dry" districts two small hotels—one the White House at Kumeu Junction, and the other the Waihou Hotel, which has been taken into the Ohinemuri Electorate.

SOUTH ISLAND.

Owing to decrease in population the existing electorates have been reduced from thirty-four to thirty-one—viz., Motueka, Selwyn, and Otago Central. Portion of these have been absorbed by Grey, Buller, Nelson, Wairau, Ellesmere, Ashburton, Chalmers, Oamaru, Wakatipu, and Waitaki Electorates.

A new district, proposed to be called "Tuapeka," has been formed out of the existing electorate of Bruce and part of Otago Central.

As the preponderance of population in the proposed new electorate is now in a dry area, this will have the effect of turning "dry" a large proportion of the "wet" area of Taieri and a small portion of the Tuapeka County, apparently necessitating the closing of several licensed houses at the next election.

The name "Tuapeka" was adopted as suiting a large part of the proposed electorate and on account of the numerous objections to the name being eliminated by the last Representation Commission.

The new Ashburton Electorate will apparently eliminate one licensed house at Chertsey.

Approximate Cost of Paper.-Preparation, not given; printing (650 copies), £1 5s.

Price 3d.]

By Authority : MARCUS F. MARKS, Government Printer, Wellington.--1917.