PALMERSTON NORTH, SATURDAY, 14TH AUGUST, 1909.

The Commission met at 9 a.m. in the Supreme Court.

Mr. W. Dinnie, Commissioner of Police, was in attendance.

Martin Dudley Stagpoole, sergeant, stationed at Palmerston North, was sworn, and gave evidence.

Charles Bowden, sergeant, stationed at Feilding, was sworn, and gave evidence. Henry Beattie, sergeant, stationed at Taihape, was sworn, and gave evidence.

Frederick Woods, constable, stationed at Foxton, was sworn, and gave evidence.

Robert Edwards, architect and Justice of the Peace, Palmerston North, was sworn, and gave evidence.

John William Henderson Macleod, mounted constable, stationed at Palmerston North, was sworn, and gave evidence.

Alexander Russell, constable, stationed at Palmerston North, was sworn, and gave evidence.

Alexander Crozier, ex-constable, Marton, was sworn, and gave evidence.

Albert Graham, farmer, Apiti, was sworn, and gave evidence.

John O'Donovan, Sub-Inspector in Charge, Palmerston North Sub-district, was sworn, and gave evidence.

Andrew Duncan Thomson, Stipendiary Magistrate, Palmerston North, was sworn, and gave evidence.

The Commission adjourned at 1 p.m.

Napier, Tuesday, 17th August, 1909.

The Commission met at 10 a.m. at the Magistrate's Court Buildings.

Mr. W. Dinnie, Commissioner of Police, was in attendance.

Thomas James Wilton, constable, stationed at the Spit, was sworn, and gave evidence. Walter Torr, district constable, stationed at Wairoa, was sworn, and gave evidence. William Wilson Smart, sergeant, stationed at Hastings, was sworn, and gave evidence. Alexander Cruickshank, sergeant, stationed at Dannevirke, was sworn, and gave evidence.

William Folley, sergeant, stationed at Napier, was sworn, and gave evidence. David Dearlove Hutton, sergeant, stationed at Gisborne, was sworn, and gave evidence. Denis Joseph Cummings, sergeant and District Clerk, stationed at Napier, was sworn, and gave evidence.

William Edward Hill, detective, stationed at Napier, was sworn, and gave evidence. John Dwyer, Inspector in Charge, Napier District, was sworn, and gave evidence. Joseph Aldous Raynes, bailiff, Napier, was sworn, and gave evidence. The Commission adjourned at 1.25 p.m.

AUCKLAND, TUESDAY, 24TH AUGUST, 1909.

The Commission met at 10.30 a.m. at the Supreme Court Buildings.

Mr. W. Dinnie, Commissioner of Police, was in attendance.

Samuel Thompson, constable, stationed at Dargaville, was sworn, and gave evidence. John Frederick Hammerley, mounted constable, stationed at Auckland, was sworn, and gave evidence.

Patrick Carmody, constable, stationed at Whangaroa, was sworn, and gave evidence. Andrew McDonnell, constable, stationed at Aratapu, was sworn, and gave evidence. Patrick John Dunne, constable, stationed at Ponsonby, was sworn, and gave evidence. Frederick Augustus Moore, sergeant, stationed at Whangarei, was sworn, and gave evidence. The Commission adjourned at 3.15 p.m.

AUCKLAND, WEDNESDAY, 25TH AUGUST, 1909.

The Commission met at 10.30 a.m. in the Supreme Court Buildings.

Mr. W. Dinnie, Commissioner of Police, was in attendance.

Edward Clare Blomfield, barrister, Auckland, was sworn, and gave evidence.

Patrick John Dunne, constable, was further examined.

George Foreman, constable, stationed at Otahuhu, was sworn, and gave evidence.

John James Taylor, ex-constable, attended and asked permission to go into the question of his dismissal from the Force; but the Commissioner ruled that he was expressly debarred by the order of reference from doing so.

Frederick Augustus Moore, sergeant, was further examined.

Bartholomew Sheehan, sergeant, stationed at Newton, was sworn, and gave evidence.

The Commission adjourned at 3.45 p.m.