1908. NEW ZEALAND

PLANS OF THE FOUR CHIEF CITIES,

WITH PARTICULARS RELATIVE TO POPULATION, BOUNDARIES, ETC.

Return to an Order of the House of Representatives, dated the 5th August, 1908.

Ordered, "That there be laid before this House plans of the four chief centres of population in the Dominion, showing,—(1) The limits within which the population given in the Gazette returns reside; and (2) the limits of the above which are under municipal administration as distinguished from county or Road Board government."—(Mr. TANNER.)

MEMORANDUM.

1. The plan for Greater Auckland shows that the following boroughs and road districts have been considered as suburban to the city: Boroughs—Auckland, Birkenhead, Devonport, Grey Lynn, Mount Eden, Newmarket, Northcote, Parnell; road districts—Arch Hill, Eden Terrace, Epsom, Mount Albert, Mount Roskill, One-tree Hill, Point Chevalier, Remuera. Also, outlying portion of Parnell Riding, being land in the Domain with Hospital on it.

2. The plan for Greater Wellington shows the contiguous boroughs held to comprise all the

suburbs of the city-Wellington, Karori, Miramar, Onslow.

- 3. The plan for Greater Christchurch shows that the following boroughs and road districts have been considered as suburban to the city: Boroughs—Christchurch, New Brighton, Sumner, Woolston; road districts—Avon (part) (New Brighton and Richmond Wards, and parts of Styx and Papanui Wards), Halswell (part), Heathcote (part) (Avon, Bromley, Opawa, and parts of St. Martins, and Hillsborough Wards), Riccarton (part), Spreydon. The boundaries accepted were selected at the express desire of the Board of Health, and corresponded with those of the health district, except that on the west it was found necessary to deviate a little and take certain roads rather than sections; also that the Borough of Sumner has been recently added to meet complaints as to unfair treatment.
- 4. The plan for Greater Dunedin shows the contiguous boroughs held to comprise all the suburbs of the city—Dunedin, Maori Hill, Mornington, North-east Valley, Roslyn, St. Kilda, West Harbour.

E. J. VON DADELSZEN, Registrar-General.

Registrar-General's Office, Wellington, 17th August, 1908.

Approximate (ost of Paper.--Preparation not given; printing (1,400 copies, exclusive of maps), 18s. 6d.

By Authority: JOHN MACKAY, Government Printer, Wellington.-1903.

Price 18.]