.

Wellington-

As required : Eketahuna Post-office-Railway-station ; Hukanui Post-office-Railwaystation.

Daily: Pahiatua-Mangaramarama; Palmerston North-Terrace End-Whakaronga (see "Extended").

Thrice weekly : Colyton-Spur Road ; Hukanui-Maungaraupi ; Mangamahoe-Hastwell's (giving Hastwell's a daily mail); Porirua-Paremata (delivery of letters); Rangitumau-Opaki; Te Nui-Annedale-Manawa.

Twice weekly: Carterton-Gladstone-Te Wharau-Land's End (no post-office); Homewood-Flat Point-Waikekino; Korora-Pongaroa; Masterton-Te Whiti; Rakaunui-Waikereru.

Weekly: Glendhu (no post-office)-Glenburn (no post-office); Kaitawa-Pori; Puke-hinau-Maku; Waikereru-Waiowaka.

The following services were extended :---

Auckland-

Birkenhead-Birkdale (letter-delivery) to include Borough of Birkenhead as far as Hadfield's Corner on Roberts Road.

Dunedin-

Dunedin-South Dunedin tram-service to include conveyance of mails between Dunedin, North-east Valley, and Caversham, and also conveyance of letter-carriers; St. Bathan's-Cambrian to Beck's.

Nelson-

Collingwood-Parkeston to Golden Ridge (new office : Parkeston closed).

New Plymouth-

Whangamomona-Kohuratahi to Tuhara.

Wanganui-

Mangaweka-Kawatau to junction of Kawatau Valley and Auputu Roads, and to Upper Kawatau and Mangakoheka, weekly.

Wellington-

Alfredton-Waterfalls and Alfredton-Pori to Saunders Road (new office); Karori letter-delivery to Creswick and Northlands, and to Tinakori Road boundary; Pahiatua-Konini-Hamua-Newman to Eketahuna; Palmerston North-Terrace End to Whakaronga; Utuwai-Apiti to Umutoi (post-office reopened).

The frequency of the following services was increased :----

Auckland-

Once to twice daily: Te Awamutu-Hairini.

Twice to thrice weekly: Manurewa-Alfriston-Brookby; Pirongia-Karamu; Tauhoa-Mangakura.

Twice and once weekly (summer and winter) to thrice and once weekly (1st November-30th April, 1st May-31st October); Taupo-Tokaanu.

Once to twice weekly: Coromandel-Cabbage Bay; Mangapai-Ruarangi-Waikiekie; Porootarao-Ongarue.

Christchurch-

Daily to twice daily: Christchurch-Glentunnel; Tinwald-Christchurch.

Five times weekly to daily (in afternoon), with morning mails twice weekly: Christchurch-Methven-Lauriston-Lyndhurst-Cairnbrae.

Twice weekly to daily (5/12/01 to 30/4/02; twice weekly for remainder of year):Kowai Bush-Springfield.

Dunedin-

Thrice weekly to daily : Outram-Woodside-Maungatua.

Gisborne

Thrice weekly to daily : Gisborne-Kaiteratahi-Te Karaka-Whatatutu. Fortnightly to weekly : Te Araroa-Hicks Bay section of Port Awanui-Hicks Bay service (whole service now weekly).

Greymouth-

Four times weekly to daily: Greymouth-Paroa section of Greymouth-Dunganville service.

Hokitika-

Twice to thrice weekly: Kumara-Westbrook-Greenstone.

New Plymouth-

Weekly to twice weekly : Purangi-Matau.

Timaru-

Thrice weekly to daily : Timaru-Fairview-Claremont-Priest's Corner (no post-office)-Southburn-Pareora (terminal point)-Otipua-Kingsdown (no post-office)-Salisbury-Timaru (round service).

Wanganui-

Twice and once weekly (summer and winter) to thrice and twice weekly (1st November-30th April, 1st May-31st October); Tokaanu-Waiouru-Karioi-Ohakune-Raetihi-Mangaituroa-Pipiriki.

Wellington-

Once to twice weekly: Utuwai-Apiti.

The frequency of the following service was diminished :----

Christchurch-

Twice to once daily : Springston Post-office-Railway-station.