Factories Act, Education Department, Homing-pigeons Protection Act, Hanner Springs Sanatorium, Rotorua baths, Rotorua patients, the Treasury, Licensing Act, valuation revenue, Coalmines Act, Immigration Restriction Act, and loan-debenture receipts.

The payments made by the Post Office on behalf of the Treasury were £580,159 0s. 2d.

1,549,360 discount-stamps, valued at £1,622 5s., were sold during the year, and 1,140,240, for £1,187 15s., redeemed.

GROSS RECEIPTS AND PAYMENTS.

The gross receipts dealt with during the year were: Departmental, £13,336,337 3s. 4d.; on account of other departments, £2,205,826 3s. 5d.: total, £15,542,163 6s. 9d.

The payments were: Departmental, £13,390,980 10s. 1d.; on behalf of other departments—to individuals, £1,732,784 19s. 8d.; to Government accounts, £514,692 3s. 4d.: a total of £15,638,457 13s. 1d.

The gross receipts and payments were therefore £31,180,620 19s. 10d. for the year.

LETTER-CARRIERS' DELIVERIES.

Deliveries by letter-carriers were established at: Blenheim—Havelock; Thames—Opotiki; Te Aroha.

Letter-carriers' deliveries were extended as follows: In Auckland (suburbs)—The twice-daily delivery now includes Grange Road and Mount Eden and Mount Roskill districts to the north of Grange Road. At Devonport (Auckland), (by subsidised carrier)—To include the whole of the Borough of Devonport and Sunnyside. Christchurch—At New Brighton, along New Brighton Road as far as Professor Bickerton's. Dunedin—At Balclutha, northwards to include the Main North Road to junction with Cemetery Road, also Yarmouth, Lyne, and Argyle Streets; and westwards to include Ryrie Street and Rosebank Road as far as junction with Ryrie Street. New Plymouth (C.P.O.)—To Vogeltown. Timaru—Geraldine, to Waihi Terrace.

NEWSPAPERS REGISTERED.

Sixteen newspapers were registered for transmission by post, and eleven ceased publication.

RECEIVING-BOXES.

Twenty-six receiving-boxes were established at: Auckland—City and suburbs, 11. Christ-church—City and suburbs, 6. Dunedin—City and suburbs, 2. Invercargill—Riverton, 3. Napier—Wairoa, 1. New Plymouth—Town, 1. Wellington—City and suburbs, 1; Woodville, 1.

Three receiving-boxes were closed at: Christchurch—City, 2. Dunedin—City, 1.

DESIGNATIONS OF OFFICES.

The designations of offices were changed as follows: Auckland—Otonga East to Marua; St. Heliers Bay (post-office) to St. Heliers. Christchurch—Conway to Conway Flat. Dunedin—Idaburn to Rough Ridge. Wellington—Manuhara to Maku; Oroua Downs to Himatangi.

Designations were corrected as follows: Auckland—Ongaruhe to Ongarue. New Plymouth—

Wangamomona (post-office) to Whangamomona.

Post-offices established, etc.

Seventy-four post-offices were established (of these six were reopened offices) and twenty-one closed :—

Opened.

Amodeo Bay, Auckland
Ararua (Dec., 100), Auckland
Aratiatia, Auckland
Ardgowan, Oamaru
Ashley Downs, Dunedin
Belmont, Invercargill
Benmore, Invercargill
Benmore, Invercargill
Big Omaha, Auckland
Bulwer, Blenheim
Cape Runaway, Thames
Clydevale, Dunedin
Fencourt, Auckland
Golden Ridge, Nelson
Hamilton South (reopened), Dunedin
Hatuma, Napier
Hauturu, Auckland
Hayward's Point, Dunedin
Idaburn, Dunedin
Kahukura (reopened), Gisborne
Kanakanae, Gisborne
Kanakanae, Gisborne
Karewarewa, Wellington
Kawarau Bridge, Dunedin
Korora, Wellington
Kutuku, Hokitika
Maben Road, Wanganui

Mahakipawa, Blenheim
Mangaramarama, Wellington
Matapu (reopened), Wanganui
Matuku, Invercargill
Maungaraupi, Wellington
Moneymore, Dunedin
Newton Flat (reopened), Westport
Ngatapa, Napier
Niue, Auckland
Ocean Beach, Invercargill
Ohangai, Wanganui
Omokoroa, Thames
Oparau, Auckland
Orinoco, Nelson
Paengaroa, Thames
Paerau, Dunedin
Paiaka, Auckland
Pakorari, Hokitika
Pakowhai, Napier
Paremata (reopened), Wellington
Patoka, Napier
Pukehinau, Wellington
Putere, Napier
Rangitumau, Wellington

Rarotonga (as a New Zealand office), Auckland Riponui, Auckland Rongokokako, Wellington St. John's, Wanganui Springston Railway, Christchurch Stanley Road, New Plymouth Tangaihi, Auckland Tatarariki, Auckland Tatarariki, Auckland Te Wharau, Wellington Te Whiti, Wellington Te Whiti, Wellington Titoki, Auckland Tuhara, New Plymouth Umutoi (reopened), Wellington Victoria Bridge, Dunedin Waikereru, Wellington Waiowaka, Wellington Waiowaka, Wellington Waitapu, Nelson Weraroa, Wellington Whakamara, Wanganui Whakaronga, Wellington Wharekopae, Gisborne Wild Bush, Invercargill.