## No. 5.

(No. 10.)

Government House, Wellington, 4th February, 1901. I have the honour to enclose you herewith a nominal roll of the Sixth

Contingent, who left Auckland for Čapetown on the 30th January on the s.s. "Cornwall."

The Sixth Contingent consisted of 18 officers, 551 non-commissioned officers and men, and 580 horses. I have, &c.,

The Right Hon. J. Chamberlain,

RANFURLY.

RANFURLY.

Secretary of State for the Colonies.

## No. 6.

(No. 11.)

SIR,-Government House, Wellington, 4th February, 1901.

With reference to my telegram of the 26th January, informing you of the deep sorrow expressed by towns, Consuls, societies, religious bodies, &c., at the death of Her Majesty Queen Victoria, I have the honour to send you a list of the letters and telegrams received up to date.

These all have been acknowledged individually, and your telegram of the 26th January, expressing His Majesty's thanks, and the thanks of the Royal

Family, has been published throughout the colony.

I have, &c.,

The Right Hon. J. Chamberlain, Secretary of State for the Colonies.

## Enclosure.

## LIST OF LETTERS AND TELEGRAMS.

From the Imperial German Consul, Auckland.

From National Council of Women of New Zealand, Christchurch. From Women's Branch, Ancient Order of Foresters, Canterbury.

From Executive Officers, Ancient Order of Foresters.

From New Zealand Society for the Protection of Women and Children, Wellington. From President, Wellington Friendly Societies' Council, Wellington. From New Zealand Branch, Girls' Friendly Society, Wellington.

From Mayor and Councillors of Oamaru.

From loyal Natives of Whirinake.

From Mayor of New Brighton. From Mayor of Ross. From Mayor of Christchurch. From Mayor of Parnell.

From Mayor of Foxton.
From Mayor of Westport.
From Mayor of Birkenhead (Auckland).

From Mayor of New Plymouth. From Mayor of Auckland.

From Mayor of Ashburton.

From Mayor of Kaiapoi. From Mayor of Wanganui

From Mayor of Palmerston North.

From Mayor of Tauranga. From Mayor of Oamaru.

From Mayor of Greytown North.

From Mayor of Hokitika. From Mayor of Lyttelton. From Mayor of Woolston.

From Mayor of Sumner. From Mayor of St. Albans.

From Mayor of Woodville.

From Mayor of Woodvine.

From Mayor of Napier.

From Chairman, Vincent County Council, Clyde.

From Chairman, Westland County Council, Hokitika.

From Chairman, Waitaki County Council, Oamaru.

From Chairman, Inangahua County Council, Reefton.

From Chairman, Opotiki Town Board.