FIFTH SESSION OF THE FOOD AND AGRICULTURE ORGANIZATION OF THE UNITED NATIONS

THE fifth session of the FAO Conference was held at Washington, D.C., from 21 November to 7 December, 1949.

The New Zealand delegation was as follows:-

Member-

E. J. FAWCETT, Director-General of Agriculture.

Alternate—

R. W. Marshall, Department of Industries and Commerce. Washington.

Associates-

- L. J. K. Futter, Department of Industries and Commerce, Washington.
- I. L. E. Elliott, Department of Agriculture.

Secretary-typist—

L. GAIR, Department of Industries and Commerce, Washington.

Senor Dr. Oscar Gans, Cuban Ambassador to the United States of America, was elected Chairman, while the Hon. S. L. Mansholt, Netherlands Minister of Agriculture, the Hon. N. J. O. Makin, Australian Ambassador to the United States of America, and Darwish Al-Haidari, Director-General of Agriculture of Iraq, were elected Vice-Chairmen.

REPRESENTATION

The Organization has a total membership of 63 nations as follows: Afghanistan, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Burma, Canada, Ceylon, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Greece, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy. Korea. Lebanon, Liberia, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippine Republic, Poland, Portugal, Saudi Arabia, Switzerland, Sweden, Syria, Thailand, Turkey, Union of South Africa, United Kingdom, United States of America, Uruguay, Venezuela, Yugoslavia.

Of these Paraguay, Peru, and Poland were not represented, and Afghanistan, Indonesia, Israel, Korea, and Sweden were admitted as new members during the session.

The following non-member Governments and Organizations were represented by observers: Argentine, Iran, United Nations, International Bank for Reconstruction and Development, United Nations