II. DELEGATIONS

The 58 member States sent delegations to the second part of the third regular session of the General Assembly, and the admission of Israel to membership on 11 May brought the number to 59.

The New Zealand delegation consisted of----

Delegate---

Sir CARL BERENDSEN, New Zealand Ambassador to the United States.

Alternate Delegates-

Dr W. B. SUTCH, Secretary-General of the New Zealand Permanent Delegation to the United Nations.

Mr G. R. LAKING, New Zealand Embassy, Washington.

Advisers-

Mr F. H. CORNER, New Zealand Embassy, Washington.

Mr C. CRAW, New Zealand Permanent Delegation to the United Nations.

Mr T. C. LARKIN, Department of External Affairs.

Miss H. N. HAMPTON, New Zealand Permanent Delegation to the United Nations.

III. ELECTIONS

Committee Officers

Elections were necessary as the result of the resignation of a number of officers elected during the first part of the session.

Mr F. Van Langenhove (*Belgium*) was elected to replace Mr P. H. Spaak (*Belgium*) as Chairman of the First Committee.

Mr G. Ignatieff (*Canada*) was elected to replace Mr L. D. Wilgress (*Canada*) as Chairman of the Fifth Committee.

In the *ad hoc* Political Committee Mr V. Houdek (*Czechoslovakia*) was elected Vice-Chairman in the place of Mr V. Prochazka (*Czechoslovakia*).

During the course of the session Mrs B. Begtrup (*Denmark*), Vice-Chairman of the Third Committee, was replaced by Mr G. Ingebretson (*Norway*), and later by Dr R. Noriega (*Mexico*).