(President of the Trusteeship Council), M. Pierre Ryckmans (Honorary Governor-General of the Belgian Congo), and Senator Eduardo Cruz-Coke, of Chile, arrived in Western Samoa in the following July. The Mission was accompanied from New Zealand by a representative of the Prime Minister and by the Secretary of Island Territories, who remained in Apia during most of the Mission's stay and, together with the Administrator and local officials, made themselves available for constant consultation.

On 26th August, 1947, two days before the Mission left Apia, the New Zealand Government, in a statement in Parliament, outlined its immediate plans for the political development of Western Samoa. The revised Constitution provided for a Council of State comprising the three Fautua and the Administrator (who in future would be known as the High Commissioner), and for a Legislative Assembly composed of the members of the Council of State, eleven Samoan members elected by the Fono of Faipule, five representatives of the European and part-European community elected under adult suffrage, and six official members. By these changes the Samoans were given an absolute majority in the Legislative Assembly, the principal executive authority in the Territory. The New Zealand Government's plans were found to be very closely in line with the recommendations contained in the Mission's report, published in October, 1947, and considered by the Trusteeship Council in its November session. Implementation of the New Zealand Government's proposals was effected by the passing of the Samoa Amendment Act, 1947, by the New Zealand Parliament on 25th November, 1947. This Act came into force on 10th March, 1948.

B. STATUS OF THE TERRITORY AND ITS INHABITANTS

STATUS OF THE TERRITORY

The constitutional basis of the system of government in Western Samoa is provided by the Samoa Act, 1921, and subsequent amendments. The original Act vested the executive government of the Territory in "His Majesty the King in the same manner as if the Territory were part of His Majesty's dominions." It provided that an Administrator should be appointed by the Governor-General of New Zealand, to be charged with the administration of the Territory, subject to the control of the New Zealand Minister of External Affairs—now the Minister of Island Territories.

The Samoa Amendment Act, 1947, deleted the words "in the same manner as if the Territory were part of His Majesty's dominions." The title of "Administrator" was changed by the same Amendment Act to that of "High Commissioner."

The New Zealand Parliament has power to pass Acts affecting the Territory. In addition, by the Samoa Act the Governor-General in Council is empowered to make in New Zealand "all such regulations as he thinks necessary for the peace, order, and good government" of the Territory.

The only body empowered to enact legislation in Western Samoa itself is the Legislative Assembly, which, by virtue of the Samoa Amendment Act, 1947, may make laws (known as Ordinances) for the peace, order, and good government of the Territory. This power to pass Ordinances does not extend to the making of laws relating to defence, or to external affairs, or affecting the title of His Majesty the King to any land. Also, Ordinances may not be repugnant to certain New Zealand legislation as described in the Amendment Act. The power of legislation on certain other matters is reserved to the Government of New Zealand. Bills affecting the public revenues may not be passed by the Assembly except upon the recommendation of the High Commissioner. No Ordinance can become law until it has been passed by the Assembly in the form of a Bill and has been assented to by the High Commissioner.