The main beneficiaries from the grants since January, 1946, have been as follows:-

	£		£	
Tennis clubs	12,723	Recreation-ground committees	2,573	
Church organizations	9,138	Basketball (indoor and outdoor)	2,395	
Local authorities	4,950	Community centres	2,275	
Boy Scouts	4,916	Hobbies, recreation and rotary	2,225	
Boating and yacht clubs	4,466	clubs		
Bowling clubs	4.432	Athletics and cycling	2,110	
Y.M.C.A's. and Y.W.C.A's.	3,360	Golf	1,900	
	,	Orchestras and bands	1,670	
Improvement and residents'	3,260	Domains	1,658	
associations		Councils of Sport	1.600	
Surf life-saving and swimming	3,210	Young people's clubs	1,590	
Hall committees	3,135	Cricket	1,472	
Tramping, mountain, and ski clubs	2,845	Social organizations	1,405	
Sports clubs	2,747	Croquet	1,065	

Grants aggregating in total less than £1,000 have been made to numerous other associations and organizations.

On a physical welfare district basis, grants were allocated as follows during the 1947-48 financial year:—

District.	Total Grants
NORTHLAND (Manganui, Hokianga, Whangaroa, Bay of Islands, Whangarei, Hobson, Otamatea, and part Rodney Counties)	£ 2,046
AUCKLAND (Auckland Metropolitan Area, Eden, Waitemata, Manukau, Franklin, Coromandel, and part Rodney Counties)	8,646
WAIKATO (Waikato, Thames, Hauraki Plains, Ohinemuri, Piako, Raglan, Waipa, Kawhia, Otorohanga, Matamata, Waitomo, Taumarunui, and Kaitieke Counties)	4,625
ROTORUA (Taupo, Rotorua, Whakatane, and Opotiki Counties) POVERTY BAY (Matakaoa, Waipu, Uawa, Waikohu, Cook, and Wairoa Counties)	$2,165 \\ 805$
HAWKE'S BAY (Hawke's Bay, Waipawa, Waipukurau, Patangata, Dannevirke, and Weber Counties)	1,415
TARANAKI (Ohura, Clifton, Whangamomona, Inglewood, Stratford, Taranaki, Egmont, Waimate West, Eltham, Hawera, and Patea Counties)	1,870
CENTRAL (Waimarino, Wanganui, Waitotara, Rangitikei, Kiwitea, Pohangina, Oroua, Manawatu, Kairanga, and part Horowhenua Counties)	2,510
WAIRARAPA (Woodville, Pahiatua, Akitio, Eketahuna, Mauriceville, Castlepoint, Masterton, Wairarapa South, and Featherston Counties)	835
WELLINGTON (Wellington Metropolitan Area, Hutt, Makara, and part Horowhenua Counties)	5,900
NELSON (Takaka, Collingwood, Waimea, and part Murchison Counties) MARLBOROUGH (Marlborough and Awatere Counties) WEST COAST (Buller, Inangahua, Grey, Westland, and part Murchison Counties) CANTERBURY (Christchurch Metropolitan Area, Kaikoura, Amuri, Cheviot, Waipara, Tawera, Kowai, Ashley, Oxford, Selwyn, Rangiora, Malvern, Eyre, Paparoa, Springs, Ellesmere, Halswell, Wairewa, Akaroa, Mount Herbert, Heathcote, and Waimairi Counties)	920 1,240 1,240 3,415
SOUTH CANTERBURY (Ashburton, Geraldine, Mackenzie, Levels, and Waimate	1,727
Counties) OTAGO (Waitaki, Waihemo, Waikouaiti, Taieri, Peninsula, Bruce, Tuapeka, Vincent, Lake, and part Clutha Counties)	4,596
SOUTHLAND (Fiord, Wallace, Stewart Island, Southland, and part Clutha Counties)	725
Total	43,750