it still has to prove itself. We believe it will do so best by concentrating all its energies on the solid core of tasks that are ours alone, and that the world expects of us."

In all subsequent committee work the New Zealand delegation held firmly to this point of view.

## MECHANISM OF THE CONFERENCE

To carry through its heavy programme, the Conference split quite early into Commissions and Committees. The first Committees were concerned with the mechanism of the Conference itself—

Credentials Committee.—A select committee of ten members, on which New Zealand was represented by Lorna McPhee.

Committee on Procedure.—A Committee of the whole Conference, on which R. A. Falla served.

Nominations Committee.—This consisted of the leaders of all delegations, and had to nominate all the officers of the Conference. C. E. Beeby was elected Chairman. The recommendations of the Nominations Committee were adopted by the Conference, and the following officers were elected—

President: Monsieur Léon Blum (France).

Executive Board: It was decided by lot which members of the Board should remain in office for one, two, and three years respectively—

One-year term: Dr E. R. Walker (Australia), M. Chen Yuan (China), Dr Martinez Baez (Mexico), Professor Kruyt (Netherlands), Dr Falski (Poland), Sir John Maud (United Kingdom).

Two-year term: M. Verniers (Belgium), Hon. Dr Dore (Canada), Dr Opocensky (Czechoslovakia), H. E. Shafik Ghorbal Bey (Egypt), Professor Photiades (Greece), Sir Sarvapalli Radhakrishnan (India).

Three-year term: Professor Paulo Carneiro (Brazil), Professor Pierre Auger (France), Professor A. Sommerfelt (Norway), M. R. M. Guntekin (Turkey), Hon. Archibald MacLeish (United States of America), Dr Parra-Perez (Venezuela).

The most important function of the Executive Board during the Conference was the nomination to the plenary session of the Director-General.

The major Commissions were—

- A. Programme Commission, which split into working Sub-Commissions on—
  - (1) Education.
  - (2) Mass Communication.