# MAORI AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

## (REPORTS OF THE)

## NGA RIPOATA A TE KOMITI MO NGA MEA MAORI

(Mr. J. B. COTTERILL. CHAIRMAN)

Laid on the Table of the House of Representatives

ORDERS OF REFERENCE

Extracts from the Journals of the House of Representatives

THURSDAY, THE 27TH DAY OF JUNE, 1946

Ordered, "That a Select Committee be appointed, consisting, by leave, of seventeen members, to consider all petitions, reports, returns, and other documents relating to affairs especially affecting the Maori race which may be referred to it, and from time to time to report to this House: the Committee to consist of Mr. Broadfoot, Mr. Cotterill, Mr. Cullen, Mr. Langstone, Mr. Lowry, Mr. Massey, Mr. Murdoch, Mr. Omana, Mr. Paikea, Mr. Ratana, Mr. Sim, Mr. Smith, Mr. W. Sullivan. Mr. Thorn, the Hon. Mr. Tirikatene, Mr. Williams, and the Mover."-(On motion of Hon. Mr. Mason.) Ordered, "That all petitions not finally dealt with during the session of 1945 be again referred to the same Committees as they were referred to during the said session."-(Right Hon. Mr. FRASER.)

WEDNESDAY, THE 14TH DAY OF AUGUST, 1946

Ordered, "That the Maori Affairs Committee be increased, by leave, to eighteen members by the addition of the name of Mr. Osborne."-(Right Hon. Mr. FRASER.)

FRIDAY, THE 13TH DAY OF SEPTEMBER, 1946

Ordered, "That the Waikato-Maniapoto Maori Claims Settlement Bill be referred to the Maori Affairs Committee."---(Right Hon. Mr. FRASER.)

FRIDAY, THE 4TH DAY OF OCTOBER, 1946

Ordered, "That the Ngaitahu Trust Board Bill be referred to the Maori Affairs Committee."-(Right Hon. Mr. FRASER.)

### SATURDAY, THE 5TH DAY OF OCTOBER, 1946

Ordered, "That the Maori Affairs Committee have leave to sit during the present sitting of the House."---(Mr. COTTERILL.)

WEDNESDAY, THE 9TH DAY OF OCTOBER, 1946

Ordered, "That the Native Purposes Bill be referred to the Maori Affairs Committee."-(Right Hon. Mr. FRASER.)

Ordered, "That the Maori Affairs Committee have leave to sit during the present sitting of the House."-(Mr. COTTERILL.)

Ngatimaru landless Natives' land) stands referred to the Maori Affairs Committee." (10th September, 1946.)

 $I_{--3}$