United States of America—continued William A. M. Burden, Assistant Secretary of Commerce for Air.

Rear-Admiral Richard E. Byrd, U.S.N. (Retired).

Fiorello H. LaGuardia, Chairman, United States Section, Permanent Joint Board on Defense (Canada-United States).

L. Welch Pogue, Chairman, Civil Aeronautics Board. Edward Warner, Vice-Chairman, Civil Aeronautics Board.

Charles A. Wolverton, House of Representatives.

Uruquay

Captain Carlos Carbajal, Uruguayan Navy (Chairman of the Delegation).

Colonel Medardo R. Farias, Military Attaché for Air, Uruguayan Embassy, Washington. Venezuela-

Colonel Juan de Dios Celis Paredes, Ex-Minister of War and Navy (Chairman of the Delegation) (absent).

Francisco J. Sucre, Director of Communications, Ministry of Public Works (Acting Chairman of the Delegation).

Julio Blanco Ustariz, Legal Adviser.

Yugoslavia-

Vladimir M. Vukmirovic, Consul-General, Chicago (*Chairman of the Delegation*). Squadron Leader (Captain First Class) Nenad Dj. Mirosavljevic, Chief, Civil Aviation Division, Yugoslav Ministry of War.

Flight Lieutenant Predrag Sopalovic.

Who met at Chicago, Illinois, on November 1, 1944, under the Temporary Presidency of Adolf A. Berle, Jr., Chairman of the Delegation of the United States of America.

Henrik de Kauffmann, Danish Minister at Washington, and Mom Rajawongse Seni Pramoj, Thai Minister at Washington, attended the First Plenary Session in response to an invitation extended by the Government of the United States to be present in a personal capacity. The Conference, on the recommendation of the Committee on Credentials, approved the attendance of the Danish Minister and the Thai Minister at the remaining sessions of the Conference. Warren Kelchner, Chief of the Division of International Conferences, Department of State of the

United States, was designated, with the approval of the President of the United States, as Secretary-General of the Conference, and Theodore P. Wright, Administrator of Civil Aeronautics, Civil Aeronautics Administration, Department of Commerce of the United States, was designated Technical Secretary of the Conference.

Adolf A. Berle, Jr., Chairman of the delegation of the United States of America, was elected Permanent President of the Conference at the Second Plenary Session, held on November 2, 1944.

Max Hymans, Chairman of the delegation of France, and Kia-ngau Chang, Chairman of the delegation of China, were elected Vice-Presidents of the Conference.

The Executive Committee, composed of the Chairmen of the respective delegations, and presided over by the Temporary President of the Conference, appointed a Steering Committee of the Conference, with the following membership :-

## STEERING COMMITTEE

Adolf A. Berle, Jr., United States of America (Chairman ex officio). Abdol Hosayn Aziz (Afghanistan). Hahnemann Guimaraes (Brazil). C. D. Howe (Canada). Kia-ngau Chang (China). Luis Tamayo (Colombia). Blatta Ephrem Tewelde Medhen (Ethipoia). Max Hymans (France). M. P. L. Steenberghe (Netherlands). Wilhelm Munthe de Morgenstierne (Norway). Lord Swinton (United Kingdom). Captain Carlos Carbajal (Uruguay).

The Temporary President appointed the following members of the General Committee constituted by the Conference :-

## COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS

General Armando Revoredo (Peru) (Chairman).

Felipe Pazos (Cuba).

Sir Gurunath Bewoor (India).

Hugues Le Gallais (Luxembourg).

Jan Ciechanowski (Poland).

## COMMITTEE ON CREDENTIALS

Arthur S. Drakeford (Australia) (Chairman). Mahmoud Bey Hassan (Egypt). Group Captain John Hadjinikolis (Greece). Wilhelm Munthe de Morgenstierne (Norway). Carlos Icaza (Panama).

## COMMITTEE ON RULES AND REGULATIONS

S. F. N. Gie (Union of South Africa) (Chairman). Brigadier-General Rafael Sáenz (Chile). Air Vice-Marshal Karel Janousek (Czechoslovakia). Thor Thors (Iceland). Walter F. Walker (Liberia).