NATIONAL ART GALLERY AND DOMINION **MUSEUM**

REPORT OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES FOR THE YEAR ENDED 31st MARCH, 1945

Presented to both Houses of the General Assembly pursuant to Section 11 (2) of the National Art Gallery and Dominion Museum Act, 1936

 S_{IR} , · · ·

24th July 1945.

I have the honour, by direction of the Board of Trustees, to submit to you herewith, pursuant to section 11 of the National Art Gallery and Dominion Museum Amendment Act, 1936, their report for the year ended 31st March, 1945, together with a copy of their accounts for the year, certified by the Audit Office.

I have, &c.,

F. H. BASS, Secretary.

The Hon. W. E. Parry, Minister of Internal Affairs, Wellington.

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Chairman : The Prime Minister, the Right Hon. Peter Fraser, P.C., M.P. Deputy Chairmen-

The Mayor of Wellington (W. Appleton, Esq.). The Minister of Internal Affairs (Hon. W. E. Parry, M.P.). Members-

Ernest W. Hunt, Esq., J.P., F.C.A.(Aust.), F.C.I.S.(Eng.). The Under-Secretary of Internal Affairs (J. W. Heenan, Esq., C.B.E., LL.B.).

Representative of the Maori Race : Sir Apirana Ngata, Kt.

The Royal Society of New Zealand— Dr. P. Marshall, M.A., D.Sc., F.G.S., F.R.G.S., F.R.S.N.Z. Professor W. P. Evans, M.A., Ph.D., F.R.S.N.Z.

Wellington Harbour Board-

W. H. Price, Esq. (Chairman). W. L. Fitzherbert, Esq.

New Zealand Academy of Fine Arts – D. A. Ewen, Esq., M.B.E.

G. G. Gibbes Watson, Esq., M.A., LL.B.

Wellington Branch of the New Zealand Institute of Architects: S. W. Fearn, Esq., A.R.I.B.A., F.N.Z.I.A.

Wellington City Council : Councillor L. T. Jacobsen.

Chairman of the Wellington War Memorial Carillon Society : E. E. Muir, Esq.

Local Bodies' Representative : The Mayor of Lower Hutt City (J. W. Andrews, Esq.).

Secretary : F. H. Bass, Esq., F.P.A.N.Z., Chartered Secretary (Eng.).

Treasurer : J. R. Deal, Esq.

ANNUAL REPORT OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES FOR THE YEAR ENDED 31st MARCH, 1945

The Board of Trustees met on two occasions and the Building and Finance Committee held two meetings.

CHANGES IN PERSONNEL

There were no changes in the personnel of the Board of Trustees during the year.

MANAGEMENT COMMITTEES

Professor H. B. Kirk, who served as a member of the Committee of Management of the Dominion Museum for over eight years, and was Chairman of the Committee for the greater part of that period, retired in November, 1944. The Board records its appreciation of this long and useful service. Mr. Johannes C. Andersen was appointed Chairman in succession to Professor Kirk.

The Board of Trustees also records its appreciation of the valuable services rendered by Mr. D. A. Ewen over a number of years as Chairman of the Committee of Management of the National Art Gallery. Owing to pressure of other public duties, Mr. Ewen found it necessary to relinquish that office, but he still continues as a member of the Board of Trustees and as Chairman of the Building and Finance Committee.

Mr. G. Gibbes Watson was appointed Chairman of the Art Gallery Management Committee.