SECRETARY'S REPORT.

The Hon. D. G. Sullivan, Minister in Charge of the Scientific and Industrial Research Department. I have the honour to submit herewith the annual report of the Department for the year 1941-42.

The Council of Scientific and Industrial Research held six meetings during the year.

The personnel of the Council is as follows:-

Professor H. G. Denham, M.A., D.Sc., Ph.D., F.I.C., F.R.S.N.Z., Professor of Chemistry,

Canterbury University College, Christchurch (Chairman).

Dr. J. C. Andrews, Ph.D., M.Sc., Freezing-works Manager, Auckland.

Mr. A. H. Cockayne, I.S.O., Director-General of Agriculture, Wellington.

Professor E. R. Hudson, B.Sc., B.Agr., Dip. C.A.C., Director, Canterbury Agricultural College, Lincoln.

Dr. R. O. Page, D.Sc., Tannery-works Manager, Christchurch.

Mr. G. A. Pascoe, Factory Controller, Department of Industries and Commerce.
Mr. J. M. Ranstead, Dip. C.A.C., Bledisloe Medallist, Matangi, Farmer.
Professor W. Riddet, B.Sc. (Agric.), N.D.A., N.D.D., Massey Agricultural College.
Sir Theodore Rigg, M.A., M.Sc., F.I.C., F.R.S.N.Z., Director, Cawthron Institute, Nelson.
Dr. E. Marsden, M.C., C.B.E., D.Sc., F.R.S.N.Z. (Secretary).
Mr. F. R. Callaghan, M.A., F.R.E.S. (Deputy Secretary).

Mr. T. H. McCombs, M.P., M.Sc., is the special representative of the Hon. the Minister on the Council.

The expenditure of the Department during the year was as follows:-

Permanent services—				. 1		
Head Office: Comprising general	expense	s of ad	ministrat	ion, pub	11-	
cations (including the New Z	ealand Jc	ournal o	f Scrence	and Tec	n-	
nology and departmental bu	lletins),	research	scholar	ships, a	aa	e
grants to the Royal Society	of New Z	ealand,	the Imp	erial ins	51-	£
tute, and the Carter Observat	ory	•	•	•		14,977
Dominion Laboratory (with branc	hes)		•	• •	• •	22,421
Dominion Observatory	• •		•	• •	• •	1,615
5.55-5 <u>6</u> -5-1-1-1-1-1-1			•	• •	• •	10,805
Magnetic Observatory			•	• •	• • .	$^{3,171}_{*}$
Grants to Imperial Agricultural B	ureaux		•	• •	• •	10,950
Physical Testing and Standards L	aborator		•	• •		,
Research investigations	• •		•	• •		39,227
					9	203,166
TD						40,509
Recoveries	• •	•	• •	• •	··	10,000
					£1	162,657
			~ · T			•
Grants were made to the following research	ı organiz	ations i	ı Great E	Sritain :-		£
Imperial Agricultural Bureaux Headq	uarters					1,438
Cambridge Low Temperature Research	h Station					500
Farnham House Laboratory						375
Wool Industries Research Association,	, Torrido	n	•, •			50
Imperial Mycological Institute						3 50
Imperial Institute of Entomology						450
Imperial Bureau of Dairy Science						113
Imperial Forestry Bureau	• •			• •	• •	187
* .						00.105
						£3,463*

^{*} Contributions to research organizations in Britain as shown were paid by the High Commissioner for New Zealand, but the relative vouchers arrived in New Zealand too late to be included in the accounts for the financial year ended 31st March, 1942. The total payment of £3,463 will be brought to charge in the financial year 1942–43.

During the year the activities of the Department as a whole have been further concentrated on problems of a defence nature and problems arising from war conditions. Certain research and development problems are being investigated by a special branch of the Department in collaboration with University colleges and other Departments.

The membership of the special Defence Scientific Advisory Committee is as follows:—

Dr. E. Marsden, Director of Scientific Developments (Chairman).

Representative of the Chief of the General Staff. Representative of the Chief of the Naval Staff.

Representative of the Chief of the Air Staff.

Mr. R. L. Andrew, Dominion Analyst. Dr. J. C. Andrews, Freezing-works Manager, Auckland.

Professor P. W. Burbidge, Professor of Physics, Auckland University College. Squadron Leader G. Carter, Munitions Controller.

Professor H. G. Denham, Professor of Chemistry, Canterbury University College.

Professor T. D. J. Leech, Professor of Engineering, Auckland University College (Deputy Director, Engineering).

Professor F. G. Soper, Professor of Chemistry, University of Otago (Deputy Director, Chemical). Mr. N. A. Marris, Department of Scientific and Industrial Research (Secretary).