## Opened.

Adair, Timaru.
Alfriston, Auckland.
Alma, Oamaru.
Annat, Christchurch.
Atiamuri, Napier.
Awatuna, Wanganui.
Awhitu Central, Auckland.
Ballance, Wellington.
Barkley Village, Invercargill.
Burnett's Face, Westport.
Bushside, Christchurch.
Callaghan's, Hokitika.
Castlecliff, Wanganui.
Claverley, Christchurch.
East Chatton, Invercargill.
Egmont Village, New Plymouth.
Eiffelton, Christchurch.
Calatea (reopened), Auckland.
Hiwinui, Wellington.
Homewood, Blenheim.

Kakahu Bush, Timaru.
Kawhaka, Hokitika.
Khandallah, Wellington.
Mangakahia (reopened), Auckland.
Maori Bay, Blenheim.
Maryville, New Plymouth.
Mataahu, Gisborne.
Maud Island, Blenheim.
Maunganui Bluff, Auckland.
Meremere, Wanganui.
Okoroire, Auckland.
Opio, Invercargill.
Opitonui, Auckland.
Parawai, Thames.
Pohangina, Wellington.
Pomahaka, Dunedin.
Pongakawa, Thames.
Quarry Hills, Invercargill.
Ratapapa, Wanganui.
Rewiti, Auckland.

Rotoiti (reopened), Thames.
Round Hill (reopened), Invercargill.
Sandy Bay, Nelson.
Scott's Gap, Invercargill.
Seaward Downs, Invercargill.
Seaward Moss, Invercargill.
Seaward Moss, Invercargill.
Sockburn, Christchurch.
South Norsewood, Napier.
Taioma, Dunedin.
Tisbury, Invercargill.
Tophouse, Nelson.
Upper Kuaotunu, Auckland.
Utakura (reopened), Auckland.
Wahanui, Napier.
Waikawa Valley, Invercargill.
Waituna, Invercargill.
Waituna West, Wellington.
Wendon, Invercargill.

## Closed.

Opitonui, Auckland. Port Pegasus, Invercargill. Pourerere, Napier. Redeliffe, Timaru. Riccarton, Christchurch. Tahoraite, Napier.
Te Mata, Auckland.
Te Matuku, Auckland.
Upper Riccarton, Christchurch.
Woodhill, Auckland.

Awahou, Auckland. Big River, Greymouth. Bishopdale, Nelson. Kawau, Auckland. Kawhaka, Hokitika. Omaha, Auckland.

The total number of post-offices open at the close of the year was 1,231.

The designations of the following post-offices were changed:—Newtown to Wellington South, Ahuahu to Mataahu, Mangaone to Colyton, Richardson to Stillwater, and Boatman's to Capleston.

A Government Insurance Agency was opened at the Post Office, Makaretu. Twenty-three post-office agencies were closed. At the end of the year Government insurance business was transacted at 193 post-offices.

Eighteen newspapers were registered for transmission by post, and five newspapers ceased to publish during the year. The total number of newspapers registered at the General Post Office at the close of the year was 235.

Eighty-four magazines and trade catalogues were registered between the 1st January and the 30th September last, making a total of 456 of such articles registered for transmission by post. The Postal Union regulations now obviate the need for registration.

The post-offices, Milford Sound, Big Bay, and Martin's Bay were transferred to the Invercargill

District, and those at Awahou, Rotoiti, and Rotorua to the Auckland District.

Under "The Mining Act, 1891," certain money-order offices have been appointed for the issue

of miners' rights and business licenses.

Payment of amounts contributed by mine-owners on the output of coal, for the credit of the Miners' Sick and Accident Fund and the Coal-miners' Relief Fund are now received at money-order

offices situated nearest the coal-mines.

The Post Office also undertakes the receipt and payment of Public Trust Office moneys at any

money-order office.

It may be of interest to mention that the debit and credit transactions of the Post Office for the year ended 31st December, 1891, exclusive of receipts and payments for other departments, were: Receipts, £3,288,368 1s. 9d.; payments, £3,300,024 9s. 1d., a total of £6,588,392 10s. 10d. For other departments the transactions were: Receipts, £619,891 8s. 9d.; payments, divided as follows: £326,276 9s. 9d. to individual claimants and £282,304 10s. 3d. to Government Accounts, a total of £608,581—making in all £1,228,472 8s. 9d. received and paid for other departments. The gross receipts and payments made through the Post Office for the year was, therefore, £7,816,864 19s. 7d.

Postage-stamps of the United Kingdom have been kept for sale at the principal post-offices in the colony since 1873, and New South Wales and Victorian stamps have lately been added. New Zealand stamps can now be purchased at the General Post Offices, Sydney and Melbourne. The

stamps are not for general remittance purposes.

A 2½d. postage-stamp has been engraved for the Post Office, Samoa. Postage-stamps to the order of the Post Office, Tonga, of the denominations of 1d., 2d., 4d., 8d., and 1s. have also been engraved. The Samoan stamp is already in circulation, and those for Tonga will be issued before the end of the year.

The recently-formed Government of the Cook Island Federation contemplates issuing a set of engraved postage-stamps in lieu of ordinary printing-type stamps now in use. Its Post Office has already been officially recognised, and a direct exchange of postal matter with Great Britain, the United States, Germany, and the Australian Colonies, through this department, has been arranged.

## PARCEL-POST.

There was a marked expansion of the parcel-post business during the year, more particularly in the case of inland parcels.

Now that the advantages of the parcel-post are becoming better known, the Post Office is more generally availed of for the transmission and exchange of parcels of nearly every kind.