At the examinations held during the year passes in standards were recorded as follows: I., 407; II., 217; III., 148; IV., 68: total, 840.

The number of teachers employed at the end of the year was as follows: 67 masters, with salaries from £245 to £60; 11 mistresses, £160 to £75; 26

assistant mistresses, £40 to £10; and 39 sewing-mistresses at £20.

The expenditure on Native school buildings for the year was £5,657 9s. 2d., including £762 12s. 7d. granted to Education Boards for building schools in districts in which Maoris are largely intermingled with Europeans. The outlay on school buildings for 1886 and 1887 has been unusually large, owing to the fact that during that period many sites were obtained with respect to which negotiations had been in progress for several years, and had been greatly delayed by legal difficulties. It is not at all likely that such accumulations of arrears

will occur again.

The other expenditure amounts to £16,147 19s. 5d., made up as follows: Teachers' salaries and allowances, £11,774 12s. 4d.; removal of teachers, £334 0s. 5d.; books and school requisites, £480 5s. 7d.; prizes, £222 12s. 8d.; repairs and minor works, £466 0s. 6d.; inspection, superintendence, and travelling, £772 13s. 10d.; grants in aid of musical instruments and games, and for girls residing in turn in teachers' families, £67 6s. 10d.; boarding-schools and apprenticeship, £1,813 7s. 11d.; sundries, including sewing material to be accounted for, £216 19s. 4d. Contributions amounting to £216 6s. 2d. were received from Native Reserves Funds.

The following list contains the names of all schools that have been in operation at any time since the control was transferred from the Native Department to the Education Department in 1879. The names of schools that have ceased to exist as Native schools are printed in italic letters, and of schools established by the Education Department in capital letters:—

TE KAO-opened 1882. Pamapuria—transferred from Kaitaia 1884. Ahipara. Pukepoto. Peria. TE Moari—opened 1882. Te Ngaere—closed 1884, reopened 1887. Whangape—opened 1881. WHANGAPE—opened 1881.
Lower Waihou—closed 1882, reopened 1886.
Upper Waihou—closed 1887; Hauhauism.
Waitapu.
Rakau Para—transferred to Education Board 1882. Whirinaki. Waima. OMANAIA--opened 1881. Pakia—closed 1880, reopened 1883. MOTUKABAKA—opened 1881. Mangamuka—opened 1882. Mangakahia. Waimamaku—opened 1886. OTAUA—opened 1885. Paihia. Oromahoe-closed 1880; decay. Ohaeawai. Kaikohe—closed 1880, opened on new basis 1882. Karetu—opened 1886. Waikare. Waiomio—closed 1880; European settlement. Taumarere—closed 1883, opened on new basis 1885. TE AHUAHU—opened 1885. Ngunguru. Poroti—closed 1884, reopened 1886.

Kaihu—closed 1880; European settlement.

TANGITERORIA—opened 1886. TAITA—opened 1887. Matakohė—closed 1884, reopened 1885. [1881. Pouro Point—transferred from Education Board Otamatea. ORUAWHARO—opened 1883, closed 1887; decay. ORUAWHARO—opened 1883, closed 1887; decay Taupiri—closed 1880; insufficient attendance. Kawhia—closed 1880; insufficient attendance. Karakariki—closed 1880; insufficient attendance. WAITETUNA—opened 1881.
KOPUA—opened 1886.
Orakei—closed 1880; insufficient attendance. Kirikiri—opened 1883. TAPAPA—opened 1886.
TE WAOTU—opened 1886.
MAUNGATAPU—opened 1881.

Huria—opened 1884 Paeroa-opened 1884. Te Awahou. Ohinemutu. Rotoiti. Tarawera—destroyed, 1886; volcanic eruption. TE MATAI—opened 1887. Maketu. Matata. TE TEKO-opened 1881, closed 1886; Tarawera eruption. Waiotahi-closed 1883; settlement deserted. Fort Galatea—old school reopened 1881. Whakatane. WAIOWEKA-opened 1884. Omarumutu-old school reopened 1884. Torere. Omaio Te Kaha. RAUKOKORE-opened 1887. WHAREKAHIKA—opened 1887. Kawakawa—closed 1880, reopened 1887. RANGITUKIA—opened 1887. TIKITIKI—opened 1887. Waiomatatini. Tuparoa—opened 1887. Tokomaru—closed 1884, reopened 1887.

**Uawa—transferred to Education Board 1887.

**Wairoa (Clyde)—closed 1882; apathy.

*Pakowhai—old school reopened 1881, closed 1883; Natives few. TE OREORE—opened 1882. Papawai—opened 1882. D'Urville Island—opened 1885. Waikawa. Wairau. Mangamaunu. -closed 1880; European settlement. Arahura-Kaiapoi. Rapaki. Little River. Onuku. Waikonaiti. Port Molyneux. Otago Heads-transferred to Education Board 1885. Riverton—closed 1886; European settlement. Colac Bay—opened 1881. Ruapuke—closed 1885; decay. The Neck.