28 additional receivers were opened, 1 at Auckland, 1 at Cambridge, 1 at Thames, 3 at Wanganui, 2 at Napier, 3 at Wellington, 1 at Featherston, 1 at Nelson, 1 at Greymouth, 6 at Christchurch, 1 at Akaroa, 5 at Ashburton, and 2 at Dunedin.

receivers were abolished during the year.

The total number of pillar, wall, and lamp-post receivers at the close of the year was 227. 6,141,091 letters, 246,525 post-cards, 394,239 books, parcels, and circulars, and 1,725,680 newspapers were delivered by letter-carriers during the year. This was an increase of 242,710 letters, 43,677 post-cards, 119,993 books, and 83,081 newspapers.

54 additional post-offices were established, 4 reopened, and 16 closed during the year:-

## Opened.

Archhill, Auckland. Ardmore, Auckland. Baton, Nelson. Bruce Bay, Hokitika. Bunnythorpe, Wellington. Culverden, Christchurch. Dobson, Greymouth. Dorie, Christchurch. Dovedale, Nelson. Drummond, Invercargill. Endeavour Inlet, Blenheim. Hampstead, Christchurch. Hillend, Dunedin. Hunterville, Wanganui. Jerusalem, Wanganui. Karangahake, Thames. Kare Kare, Auckland. Little Kyeburn, Dunedin. Maerewhenua, Oamaru. Makaretu, Napier.

Craigieburn, Auckland. Gladfield, Invercargill. Harben, Westport. Harcourt's Ferry, Hokitika. Ida Valley, Dunedin. Kopua, Napier.

Makarewa, Invercargill. Manaroa, Blenheim.
Mataiwi, Napier.
Mohikinui, Westport.
Mount Roskill, Auckland. Netherton, Thames. Newtown, Wellington. Okoia, Wanganui. Opuku, Auckland. Oroua Bridge (reopened), Wellington. Otorohanga, Auckland. Poroaterao, Auckland. Puni, Auckland. Puramahoi, Nelson. Purekireki, Dunedin. Putiki Bay, Auckland Redcliffe (reopened), Timaru. Rees Gorge, Invercargill. Remuera, Auckland.

## Closed.

Mataikuna, Wellington. Parihaka, New Plymouth. Springlands, Blenheim. Sylvan Bank, Invercargill. Tawatapu, Wellington.

Saddle Hill, Dunedin. South Hillend, Invercargill. Springlands, Blenheim. Tahatika, Dunedin. Taonui, Wellington. Taumaranui, Auckland. Te Kuiti, Auckland. The Beach, Christchurch. The Beach, Christenuren.
Tiniroto, Gisborne.
Waipiro Bay, Gisborne.
Waiotahi, Thames.
Walton's, Wellington.
Wedderburn, Dunedin.
Wendonside, Dunedin.
West Plains, Invercargill.
Whare Flat (reopened), Dunedin.
Woodbill. Anckland. Woodhill, Auckland. Woodstock (reopened), Hokitika. Wright's Bush, Invercargill.

Trondheim, Wellington. Wangaparapara, Auckland. Wendonside, Dunedin. Wharekahika, Wanganui. Woodstock, Hokitika.

The total number of post offices at the close of the year was 1,043.

The names of the following post offices have been changed: Kaituna Valley to Okaramio (Blenheim), Muddy Creek to Brooklynn, Wairoa to Cleveden (Auckland), Hampden to Tikokino (Napier), Haast River to Okuru (Hokitika), Campbelltown to Bluff (Invercargill).

Government Insurance agencies have been established at the post offices at Newmarket (Auck-Vatikati Maketu Paeroa (Thames). Danevirk. Mohaka, Port Ahuriri, Takapau, Taupo land), Katikati, Maketu, Paeroa (Thames), Danevirk, Mohaka, Port Ahuriri, Takapau, Taupo (Napier), Eketahuna, Mauriceville (Wellington), Boatman's, Longford (Westport), Cheviot (Christchurch). Government Insurance business is transacted at 190 post offices.

20 newspapers were registered for transmission through the Post Office. The total number

registered is 187.

175 magazines are registered under the magazine post. 6 were registered during the year. The sum paid for the carriage of interprovincial and intercolonial mails by unsubsidized vessels

was £4,869 13s. 1d.

3,989 private boxes were let, which, together with the fees on 288 private bags, produced a revenue of £4,051 10s.

The offices at Wangarei and Waipawa were destroyed by fire. Fortunately, the correspondence and property of any value were saved in both cases. The offices are to be rebuilt.

A large number of offices were inspected during the year, with beneficial results. The rapid growth of the service made it necessary to appoint an Assistant-Inspector, whose especial duty for a time will be to visit the country offices.

Amalgamation with the railway has been carried out at Matamata, Te Aute, Fairlie Creek,

Little River, and Dunback.

The extension of the railway from Orepuki to Colac Bay, Morrinsville to Oxford, and Ellesmere to Little River, admitted of an acceleration in the delivery of the mails.

## FREE OFFICIAL CORRESPONDENCE.

The estimated value of the official or free correspondence for the year is given in the statement underneath:-

Postal Districts.		Letters.		· Books.		Value.			Postal Districts.		Letters.	Books.	Value.
Auckland Thames New Plymouth Gisborne Napier Wanganui Wellington Nelson Westport Greymouth	•••	lb. 21,614 516 3,432 658 2,802 5,063 136,680 2,641 1,400 2,259	oz. 5 9 9 0 5 1 5 7 0 6	lb. 15,003 845 1,800 603 5,226 5,680 279,592 2,148 201 4,764	oz. 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 8	£ 6,369 167 1,008 197 921 1,542 49,387 784 380 761	0 2 3 6 9 12 8 3	d. 1 1 3 4 8 2 0 5 8 4	Hokitika Blenheim Christchurch Timaru Oamaru Dunedin Invercargill		lb. oz. 1,946 12 2,340 7 8,124 0 2,447 15 1,098 8 9,401 7 2,947 0 205,374 0	lb. oz. 820 8 2,160 0 11,903 2 1,860 0 1,400 0 13,043 1 2,809 12 349,859 2	£ s. d. 546 9 8 698 9 10 2,567 0 11 716 4 5 339 12 0 2,948 3 10 880 3 0 70,214 15 8