42 additional wall, lamp-post, or pillar receivers were erected during the year, and 10 closed. The total number of these receivers at the end of the year had increased to 183.

48 new post offices were opened, 9 reopened, and 25 closed during the year, at the following places :---

Ashburton Gorge (reopened), Christchurch. Belfast, Christchurch. Birdling's Flat, Christchurch. Burke's, Dunedin. Cairnbrae, Christchurch. Claremont, Timaru. Claremont, Timaru. Clonmore, Greymouth. Colac Bay, Invercargill. Cross's Creek, Wellington. Epsom, Auckland. Fairfax, Invercargill. Garston, Invercargill. Harcourt's Ferry (reopened), Hokitika. Hawea Flat, Dunedin. Hawkeswood, Christchurch. Hedgehope, Invercargill. Hikurangi, Auckland. Humphrey's, Hokitika.

Appleby, Invercargill. Big Paddock, Hokitika. Bridge, Blenheim.

Bridge, Blenheim. Claremont, Timaru. Edenvale, Auckland. Flint's Bush, Invercargill. Goodfellow's, Hokitika. Harrisville, Invercargill. Inch Clutha, Dunedin.

Opened.

Kawhaka (reopened), Hokitika. Kennington, Invercargill. Kuripapanga, Napier. Leahytown, Thames. Lismore, Christchurch. Longridge, Invercargill. Martinborough, Wellington. Matamau, Napier. Nightcaps, Invercargill. Ohonga, Wellington. Okaiawa, Wanganui. Oropi, Auckland. Otiake, Oamaru. Otipua, Timaru. Owen River, Nelson. Peria, Auckland. Piako, Auckland. Pine Bush, Invercargill.

Closed.

Kawhaka, Hokitika. Malvern, Christchurch. Mapourika, Hokitika. Newmarket, Auckland. Okoroiri, Auckland. Opawa, Christchurch. Papanui, Christchurch. Pleasant Valley, Timaru. Pine Bush (reopened), Invercargill. Pleasant Valley (reopened), Timaru. Rahotu (reopened), New Plymouth. Bangiahua, Auckland. Rimu, Hoktiika. Sea View, Christchurch. Springburn, Christchurch. Tamahere, Auckland. Upper Mill, Auckland. Upper Mill, Auckland. Wain, Thames. Waimatuku, Invercargill. Waipuku, New Plymouth. Waipuna, Auckland. Wairio, Invercargill. Waitapu, Auckland. Whargape, Auckland. Whargape, Auckland. Whirinaki (reopened), Auckland. Whitord, Auckland.

Round Hill, Invercargill. Te Kao, Auckland. Victoria Bridge, Dunedin. Waianiwa, Invercargill. Waihenga, Wellington. Waikawa, Invercargill. Whirinaki, Auckland. Woolston, Christchurch.

The number of post offices increased to 900; and the total number open on the 31st December last, compared with the number in existence in 1881, is shown in the following table :---

•					1882.				1881.			
Postal Districts.				Chief Offices.	Second- class Post Offices.	Sub-Post Offices.	Totals.	Chief Offices.	Second- class Post Offices.	Sub-Post Offices.	Totals.	
Auckland Thames New Plymouth Gisborne Napier Wanganui Wellington Nelson Westport Greymouth Hokitika Blenheim Christchurch Timaru Oamaru Dunedin	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	··· ·· ·· ·· ·· ·· ·· ·· ·· ·· ··	··· ·· ·· ·· ·· ·· ·· ··	··· ··· ··· ··· ··· ··· ···		3 1 1 1 2 2 1	$196 \\ 16 \\ 17 \\ 8 \\ 43 \\ 27 \\ 63 \\ 29 \\ 17 \\ 26 \\ 24 \\ 14 \\ 136 \\ 39 \\ 19 \\ 131$	$\begin{array}{c} 200\\ 17\\ 19\\ 9\\ 45\\ 28\\ 64\\ 31\\ 18\\ 27\\ 25\\ 17\\ 139\\ 40\\ 20\\ 133 \end{array}$		8 1 1 2 2 1	$188 \\ 14 \\ 15 \\ 8 \\ 40 \\ 26 \\ 60 \\ 28 \\ 16 \\ 25 \\ 24 \\ 15 \\ 132 \\ 36 \\ 18 \\ 132$	$192 \\ 15 \\ 17 \\ 9 \\ 42 \\ 27 \\ 61 \\ 30 \\ 17 \\ 26 \\ 25 \\ 18 \\ 135 \\ 87 \\ 19 \\ 184$
Invercargill Chatham Islan	ıds	•••	•••	•••	1 	1 1	64 1	66 2	1 	1 1	60 1	62
T	otals	••	••	••	17	13	870	900	17	13	838	868

The names of the following post offices were changed : Kapanga to Coromandel, Richmond to Matata, Lake Takapuna to Takapuna, Matawai to Tiki, Whau Bridge to Avondale (all in the Auckland District); Hastings (Thames) to Tapu; Upper Woodstock (Hokitika) to Rimu; Upper Waianiwa (Invercargill) to Waianiwa.

Government Insurance agencies were opened at the post offices at Stirling, Kamo, Manaia, and Te Aroha. The agencies at Napier, Wanganui, and Invercargill were separated from the post office on the 1st April last, and it is also proposed by the Insurance Department to create agencies at Oamaru and Timaru distinct from the post offices.

18 additional money-order and savings-banks offices were established.

Amalgamation with the railway was carried out at Ormondville, Fordell, Brunnerton, Belfast, Birdling's Flat, Papanui, and Ngapara.