Manawatu County:

1. Road from Bunnythorpe Railway Station, through Ashurst; thence northwards along the Pohangina Road to the corner of Section 12 on that road, on the boundary of the Wanga-

nui Harbour Endowment Block.

2. Road starting from the Taonui Railway Station; thence in a northerly direction to the corner of Section 26; thence in a westerly direction to the Oroua River, past Sections 21, 22, and 23; thence still westerly across Kimbolton Road to the Makino Road, at the corner of Section 44; thence northerly along the Makino Road to the corner of Section 60; thence westerly across the Stanway Road to the corner of Section 7; thence northerly to the corner of Section 8.

3. Road from the corner of Section 17 on the Pohangina Road, running westerly across the Taonui Road to the Oroua River; thence westerly across Kimbolton Road to the Makino Road; thence northerly to the junction of the Mangaone Road; thence westerly along the

Mangaone Road to the Halcombe Railway Station.

4. Road known as Reid's line, from its junction with Kimbolton Road to its junction with the road running from Bunnythorpe Station to the corner of Section 70.

Remarks.—The Surveyor-General having certified that Road No. 1 only is considered a main road, that was gazetted on the 29th March last, the others were not gazetted.

Maniototo County:

Ida Valley to Ophir.

Road, Taieri River to Hamilton, viâ Kyeburn Hotel to Kyeburn Diggings.

Remarks.—The Surveyor-General having certified that these are considered main roads, they were gazetted on the 29th March.

Maniototo County Council:

Naseby to Sowburn Road.

Remarks.—The Surveyor-General having advised that the portion from Naseby, Eden Creek Road, to Sowburn is considered a main road, that portion was gazetted on the 31st March.

Tauranga County Council:

Tauranga to Cambridge Road.

Remarks.—The Surveyor-General having advised that this is considered a main road, it was gazetted on the 29th March last.

Whakatane County Council:

Opotiki to Tauranga.

Remarks.—This was not gazetted, as Surveyor-General reported it as already included in list of gazetted main roads.

Wairoa County Council:

1. Napier and Mohaka.

2. Road, viá sea-coast, from Mohaka to Napier.

Remarks.—The Surveyor-General having reported that the first road is already on the schedule, and that the second is not considered a main road, as there is already a main road between Napier and Mohaka under this Act, they were not gazetted.

Wallace County Council:

1. Road, Riverton to Orepuki.

2. Fairfax Station to Waimatuku, north of Blocks X. and XI., Jacob's River Hundred.

3. Wrey's Bush to Waiau, via Nightcaps and Birchwood, including piece from Wairio Village

to junction with said road.

4. Road commencing at a point in west boundary of Section 43, Oreti Hundred, 6 chains from north-west corner of said section, and extending in a northerly direction west of Sections 43, 44, through Section 61, to south-east corner of Section 47; thence east of Section 47 a distance of 21 chains; thence westerly through Sections 47, 41, and 45 to west boundary of said Section 45; thence north-west through Section 79, south of Section 78; and westerly through Section 4 to Jacob's River: all sections being in Oreti Hundred.

Remarks.—The Surveyor-General having certified these roads as being considered main roads, they were gazetted on the 29th March last.

18th June 1883.

CHARLES T. BENZONI,
Acting Under-Secretary for Public Works