Question 2-continued.

Tauhoa-No, decidedly not.

Wharehine—No.
Wainui—No. Such powers ought
not to be given to the inferior class
of men who are monopolizing and gradually overriding many of the Councils.

Waitemata-No answer.

Kaukapakapa—No. Lake—Counties should have power to alter boundaries where other counties interested are agreeable to such alterations.

North Shore—No. Waitakerei West—Most certainly not. Waitakerei West (J. Cottle)-I think not.

Waitakerei West (H. Hunter)-Certainly not.

Whangaparoa-See answer to No. 1. Eden—No answer.

Epsom—See answer to No. 16.

Mount Roskill—No; there would be

too much log-rolling if allowed.
Mount Wellington—No.

Newton-No.

Panmure-No; unless two-thirds of

ratepayers agree to it.

Ponsonby—Road districts ought to continue to have power to leave counties.

Waikomiti—Road districts ought to continue to have power to leave counties.

Manukau-No answer.

Mercer-No. Hunua-No. Karaka-No.

Maraetai-With consent of Parliament.

Opaheke-No.

If local self-govern-Otahuhu—Yes. ment is to abound, the people, by their Councillors, are the proper judges when and how alterations should be made.

Papakura—See answer to No. 1. Pollock—No.

Pukekohe East-No.

Pukekohe West—See answer to No. 1. Waipipi—Yes; the delay is objectionable in getting consent of Parliament.

Wairoa-No

Thames - No. Parawai-No.

Waitoa-Yes.

Piako—If the ratepayers in the counties affected by any alteration be agreed,

Waikato—Yes, upon an application made by a majority of the ratepayers. Kirikiriroa—Not without the consent

of Parliament.

Waipa—No answer. Hamilton—No.

Kihikihi—No. Rangiaohia—I would suggest that County Councils be done away with altogether.

Tuhikaramea-

Raglan-No.

Pirongia-No.

Raglan Town-No answer.

Whakatane-No.

Cook-No.

Ormond-No.

Patutahi—No. Te Arai—Yes.

Poverty Bay—Yes. Tauranga—No answer.

Katikati—No. Te Puna—No.

Consent of Parliament Wairoa-No. requisite.

Hawke's Bay — Yes. In cases where counties cannot agree the matter in dispute should be decided by the Government.

Heretaunga-Yes. Kereru and Aorangi-No. Maraekakaho-No.

Okawa-Yes.

Papakura—As at present.

Petane-Yes. Te Mata-Yes.

Waipawa—Yes. In cases where counties cannot agree the matter to be decided by Parliament.
Norsewood — Yes. In cases where

counties cannot agree, the matter to be decided by Parliament.

Oero-Yes.

Ormondville - Yes. In cases where counties cannot agree, the matter should be decided by Parliament.

Ruataniwha North—Yes.

Tamumu-No.

Woodville-No.

Taranaki-No.

Manganui-Yes, upon petition of a majority of ratepayers affected by change.

-NoMangarei-

Carringtou—No.
Waitara West — It would not be desirable to alter the boundaries of counties, unless at least three-quarters of the ratepayers should

agree to the same.

Egmont—No.
Moa—If such is necessary, with the consent of ratepayers.

Okato-No.

Clifton-No.

Waitara East-If necessary to split up or amalgamate, consent of ratepayers to be first obtained.
Inglewood—No.
a—Not without the express consent

of Parliament.

Hawera-No answer.

Hawera—Yes, as at present, by peti-tion; but without consent of Parliament.

Maimate—Yes.

Ngaire—Yes; as at present, by petition, but without consent of Parliament.

Wanganui-Yes.

Waitotara—No.
Rangitikei—No.
Rangitikei—No.
Lethbridge—No.

Manawatu—Yes; substituting a decision of a Judge of Supreme Court for a reference to Parliament.

Manawatu-No. Otaki-No.

Halcombe-No.

Hutt-Yes; on the petition of majority of county ratepayers.

Kilbirnie—No. The consent of Par-

liament should be requisite to alter the boundaries of a county, but the County Council should have the power to alter the boundaries of ridings.

Kaiwara-Yes; on a petition of ma-

jority of ratepayers.

Wairarapa West—Do not wish present arrangement disturbed.

Featherston—No. Carterton—No answer.

Waimea-No.

Motueka-No.

Upper Motueka—No answer. Waimea—Yes.

Richmond-Yes; without the con-

sent of Parliament.

Pangatotara—Yes; on the request of a majority of ratepayers in the whole county.
Riwaka—No.
Lower Moutere—No.
Collingwood—Should remain as at present.

Collingwood-No.

Buller—No.
Inangahua—Yes; if three-fourths of the ratepayers within the portion which sought severance or amalgamation would petition the respective governing bodies.

Grey-Yes.

Marlborough-No answer.

Awatere-No. Consent of Parliament should be necessary.

Omaka-If counties agree, not, let Government decide.

Pelorus-No; any alteration or amalgamation desired should be submitted to Parliament.

Picton—No.
Spring Creek—If all the counties agree, yes; if not, let the Governor decide.

Wairau—If counties agree, yes; if not, let Governor decide.

Lower Wairau-Not without consent of Parliament.

Pukaka River Board-No.

Kaikoura-No answer.

Kaikoura River Board-Not without the consent of three-fourths of the ratepayers paying two-thirds of the rates.

Ashley-No answer.

Eyreton—Yes. Mandeville—No.

Oxford—No. Waipara—Counties should not be allowed to be split up without consent of Parliament, as they are quite small enough already.

West Eyreton—Not without the consent of Parliament,

Selwyn-No.

Courtenay—No.
Heathcote—No.
Lincoln—No. only on petition of majority of ratepayers.

Riccarton-No.

Templeton—No. South Waimakariri—No.

Akaroa-No answer.

Little River—Yes. Pigeon Bay—No.

Port Victoria-No occasion for any alteration in present rules.

Ashburton-No.

Wakanui-Yes, without the consent of Parliament, but not without consent of ratepayers.

Mount Somers—No.

Geraldine—No.
Geraldine—No.

Mount Cook-Certainly; subject to the Governor having power to veto any dismemberment of a county which it could clearly be shown was against the welfare of the majority the inhabitants, they having the right to memorialize the Governor to that effect.

Mount Peel-No.

Temuka-Yes, subject to consent of

ratepayers.

Westland — No; especially gold fields counties.

Waitaki-No; should have consent of Parliament as at present.

Kakanui - Not without consent of Parliament.

Waiareka—No; parliamentary consent should be obtained.

Waitaki—Yes.
Waikouaiti—With consent, as is now required.

Palmerston South — Yes; provided that a petition to that effect be signed by not less than three-fifths of the electors in the district so desirous to alter the boundaries.

Waikouaiti - Yes; by majority of

ratepayers.

Maniototo—No; the consent of Parliament should be required.

Peninsula-No answer.

Peninsula-Counties should not be allowed to split up or amalgamate without the consent of two-thirds of the ratepayers and of Parlia-

ment. Taieri-No.