12. Should Road Board Chairmen be elected as Mayors are?

Whangaroa North-No; elected by the Trustees, as at present. Oruaiti—No. Mongonui—Yes.

Bay of Islands—Does not apply.

Whangarei-

Kaurihohori-No.

Mangapai-The difficulty in small districts is to get any one to act, as generally all the duties fall upon him.

Maungakaramea-No. Ruatangata-No. Waipu North-As now. Whangarei—No.

Hobson—No answer.

Rodney-

Albertland North-Would make Road Board system too elaborate.

Komokoriki—No; by the members of the old Board. Matakana East-No; as at present.

Waitemata-

Devonport - No; by the Trustees themselves from amongst their number.

Devonport (W. H. Fenton)-Pukeatua—No; should be elected by

the members of the Board.
Waitakerei East—No; each Board to
elect their own Chairman, as at present.

Manukau-

Awhitu-No.

Pokeno-No.

Waipipi (A. Muir, jun.)-No; the present system satisfactory.

Waikato-

Cambridge-No. It would save much expense and valuable time if Mayors were elected by their Councils.

Waipa-No.

Mangapiko-No. Ngaruawahia Town-No; should be elected by Board.

Pukekura-No.

Newcastle-No.

Whakatane-

Opotiki-No.

Tauranga—No.
Taranaki—

Waiwakaiho-No.

Oakura — No; the present system should be simplified.

Mangarei (J. T Upjohn)—No.

Patea— Wairoa—No. Manawatu

Manchester-No.

Rangitikei-

Sandon and Carnarvon-No.

Wairarapa East—No.
Castlepoint—No.

Wairarapa West-

Masterton-No.

Suburban North-No; as at present. Amuri-No.

Marlborough

Havelock-No; by the members. Kaikoura—No; present system preferable; but Chairman should hold office until the election of his successor, and, if necessary, exercise casting vote.

Kaikoura—As at present.

Avon—No; as at present. Malvern—No.

Malvern—No.
Rakaia—No; present system of election by majority of the Board we believe to be quite satisfactory.

Sprevdon-No.

Springs—No. Upper Waimakariri—No.

Ellesmere—No. Akaroa-No.

Ashburton-

South Rakaia—No; the present system to be adhered to.

Longbeach-No.

Upper Ashburton—No. Geraldine—

Levels-No.

Levels (Chairman)-No.

Waimate-No Road Boards in county. Waitaki-

Otepopo—The present system of elect-ing Road Board Chairmen is satisfactory.

Vincent—No answer.

Lake—Cannot give opinion.

Peninsula-

Portobello-Road Board Chairmen

should not be elected as Mayors are. Taieri-

Seaside-No.

Taieri—No; it is too expensive.

Kaitangata-Road Board Chairmen should not be elected as Mayors are.

Clutha

Clutha-The present system is satisfactory.

13. It it desirable to allow of Road Board elections being held in open public meeting, like those of School Committees, in districts where the Road Board, by special order, adopts this plan?

Mongonui— Whangaroa North—At the option of ratepayers.
Oruaiti—Present mode is satisfactory,

but abolish proxy-votes.

Mongonui—By ratepayers, as at pre-

sent. Bay of Islands-Does not apply.

Kaurihohori—No change required Mangapai—I think it is better for the Trustees to choose their own Chair-

Maungakaramea-Yes.

Maungakaramea.—Yes.
Ruatangata—Election of Road Boards
to be held in open meeting, as
provided by "The Highways Act,
1874," unless ratepayers petition
to have the Local Elections Act
brought into force in their district. trict.

Waipu North-It is also very desirable that the law should not require so much advertising, as it is too expensive.

Whangarei—No change required.

Hobson—No; should be under Local Education Act. Proxy-voting in the matter of Road Board elections should be carefully considered.

Rodney Albertland North—Yes.

Komokoriki—No answer. Matakana East—Yes; as at present. Waitemata-

Devenport-

Devonport (W. H. Fenton)—No; I think Road Board members should be elected by ballot.

Pukeatua—Yes. Waitakerei East—Yes. Eden-It is.

-A. 10a.

Manukau-

Awhitu—Yes. Pokeno—Elect them as at present.
Waipipi (A. Muir, jun.)—Yes; it is satisfactory to all parties.

Waikato-

Cambridge—By the Highways Act, Auckland, these elections are held in open meeting of ratepayers, and are more simple and satisfactory than elections held under the Local Elections Act.

Waipa-It should be held in public meetof ratepayers, as under Highways Act at present, proxies being excluded.

Mangapiko—Remain as at present. Ngaruawahia Town—Yés; but not as School Boards are, by block vote. Voting should be by ballot, conducted by three scrutineers appointed at meeting.

Pukekura—As at present, but no proxies allowed.

Raglan

Newcastle-Local Elections Act is in force in this district.

Opotiki-By Local Elections Act. Tauranga-Yes.

Taranaki-Waiwakaiho-Yes.

Oakura—Yes.
Mangarei (J. T. Upjohn)—Yes; you cannot make elections too public.

Wairoa-No answer.

Manawatu-

Manchester-Under "The Local Election Act, 1876."

Rangitikei-

Sandon and Carnarvon-No; under the Local Elections Act.

Wairarapa East — Provisions of Local Elections Act should be made general.

Castlepoint - No; Regulation Local Elections Act should be made $\begin{array}{c} {\rm general~in~its~application.} \\ Wairarapa~West--- \end{array}$

Masterton-Regulation of Local Elections Act works satisfactory.

Suburban North-Yes.

Amuri-By ballot. Marlborough-

Havelock-Yes.

Kaikoura—No; as at present.
Kaikoura—Present system preferable. Selwyn-

Avon-Road Board elections, as at present, under the Local Elections Act.

Malvern—No answer. Rakaia—Most of the Road Boards Act. Think it would be well to make this system compulsory, as it avoids confusion.

Spreydon-Leave it to the discretion of the Road Board.

Springs—No. Upper Waimakariri—No. Ellesmere-No.

Akaroa-No.

Ashburton

South Rakaia-No. Longbeach—No objection seen. sent system works satisfactorily.

Upper Ashburton-Yes. Geraldine-

Levels-No.

Levels (Chairman)—No.

Waimate-No Road Boards in county.

Otepopo-It is not desirable to have