## Question 6—continued.

Manawatu-

Manchester—As at present, under "The Provincial Highways Act, 1874, Wellington."

Rangitikei-

Sandon and Carnarvon—No; only as contained in "The Wellington Pro-

vincial Highways Act, 1874."

Wairarapa East—Only on petition of a majority of the ratepayers, subject to the approval of the Governor in Council.

Castlepoint — Only on petition of majority of ratepayers, subject to approval by the Governor in Coun-

Wairarapa West-

Masterton-This should be done only on petition of ratepayers, subject to approval of Governor in Council. NOTE.—There appears to be doubt as to legal power of Government to alter boundaries of road districts. This should be seen to.

Suburban North-A majority of ratepayers. Amuri—Majority of ratepayers.

Marlborough

Havelock-Only on the petition of a majority of the ratepayers.

Kaikoura—On petition of a majority of three-fourths of ratepayers only.

Kaikoura-Only on petition of majoriry of ratepayers.

Selwyn-

Avon-Only on petition of a majority

of the ratepayers.

Malvern—Only on petition.

Rakaia — Council should have the power to make alterations, on petitions. tion of majority of ratepayers concerned.

-Only on petition of a ma-Spreydonspreycon—Unly on petition of a majority of the ratepayers.

Springs—Only on petition.

Upper Waimakariri — On petition

Ellesmere—Only with the consent of a majority of the ratepayers.

Akaroa—Only on the petition of a ma-

jority of the ratepayers.

 $A\ddot{s}hburton$ -

South Rakaia-We consider that "The Canterbury Roads Ordinance, 1872," and "The Canterbury Road Boards Amendment Act, 1877," deal satisfactorily with this question.

Longbeach—Present method is best.

Upper Ashburton-On petition of majority of ratepayers.

Geraldine

Levels-Only on a petition of the ratepayers.

Levels (Chairman) - Only on petition

of a majority of ratepayers.

Waimate—Does not apply to Waimate,
being a county without a Road Board.

Otepopo-Only on petition of a majority of the ratepayers should counties be enabled to create or alter road districts.

Vincent—No answer.

Lake—Yes. Peninsula-

Portobello — Only on petition of a majority of the ratepayers should counties be enabled to create or alter road districts.

Taieri-

Seaside-Only on a petition of the majority of the ratepayers.

Taieri—Only by a petition of the majority of the ratepayers.

Bruce

Kaitangata—Only by a petition of a majority of the ratepayers should counties be enabled to create new road districts or alter existing ones.

Clutha

Clutha—Only on the petition of a majority of the ratepayers.

## 7. Should the counties or the Road Boards have the power of altering the divisions and the numbers of the members of Road Boards?

Mongonui-Whangaroa North-By majority of

ratepayers only.
Oruaiti—Road Boards.

Mongonui—Road Boards.

Bay of Islands—Does not apply.

Whangerei-

Kaurihohori — The Road Boards should have the power, and not counties.

Mangapai-No answer.

Maungakaramea—No.
Ruatangata—The majority of ratepayers in a district only should
have the power of altering the division and numbers of members of Road Boards.

Waipu North—Yes.
Whangarei—The Road Boards should have the power, and not counties.

Hobson—Counties or Road Boards should

have power to alter divisions. But number of members or creation of new ridings should be left to the ratepayers, and decided by a poll. Rodney

Albertland North—Road Boards.

Komokoriki-No answer.

Matakana East-The power to alter the divisions and the number of the members of the Road Boards should be left entirely with the ratepayers. Waitemata-

Devonport---Road Boards.

Devenport (W. H. Fenton)-Road Boards.

-The Road Boards Pukeatua-

Waitakerei East—The Road Boards. Eden—No.

Manukau-

Awhitu—No. Pokeno—Road Boards.

Waipipi (A. Muir, jun.)—The present number of members sufficient. Waikato-

Cambridge-Alteration to be made by the county, on application of the Road Boards.

Waipa-Counties should allow alterations in Road Boards as to divisions and number of members only on petition of three-

fourths of the ratepayers, and not by their own motion.

Mangapiko-Counties

Ngaruawahia Town-Number of members of Boards should remain as at present. Counties should not have the power of interfering with Boards.

Pukekura—The counties should have the power, but only on petition of majority of ratepayers in Road Boards affected.

Newcastle-At wish of ratepayers.

Whakatane-

Opotiki-Road Boards only.

Tauranga-Yes. Taranaki-

Waiwakaiho - The counties, on receiving a petition from majority of ratepayers in the districts concerned. Oakura—It might be necessary some-

times. Mangarei (J. T. Upjohn) -Only the Road Boards.

Wairoa-Road Boards.

Manawatu-

Manchester-See answer to No. 6. Rangitikei-

Sandon and Carnarvon-As at present, under "The Wellington Provincial Highways Act, 1874."

Wairarapa East-The County Councils, only subject to the approval of the Governor in Council.

Castlepoint-Counties, only on petition of majority of ratepayers.

Wairarapa West-

Masterton—This only on petition of ratepayers or Road Board, subject to approval of Governor in Council. A maximum of seven and minimum of five have worked very fairly.

Waimea-

Suburban North-Yes.

Amuri—The counties. Marlborough-

Havelock-No.

Kaikoura-Only on petition of threefourths of ratepayers.

Kaikoura—Not without consent of three-fourths of ratepayers.

Selwyn

Avon-Yes; on petition of two-thirds of the ratepayers.

Malvern—Neither.
Rakaia—Present number of members of Road Board has been found hitherto to work satisfactorily. Think it would be advisable to leave power of alteration of divisions of road districts in hands of the Road Boards; power of ultimate decision should rest with County Councils.

Spreydon—Road Boards themselves.
Springs—Not as to numbers of members of Road Boards, but alter divisions on petition of ratepayers.

Upper Waimakariri—No.

Ellesmere-No alteration in their existing powers is desirable.

Akaroa—Alteration should be made on

the motion of either body, and with the consent of both.

**Ashburton** 

South Rakaia-No.

Longbeach—On application of Board, with consent of County Council. Upper Ashburton—No answer. Geraldine—

Levels-Road Boards, and not coun-

Levels (Chairman)—Road Boards. Waimate-No.

Wartaki-

Otepopo--Road Boards should have power to alter the boundaries of subdivisions on petition of a majority of ratepayers. Vincent—No answer.

Lake—Yes; counties should.

Peninsula-

Portobello - Neither counties nor Road Boards should have the power.

Taieri

Seaside-Road Board should have the power of altering the divisions, but no power to alter the numbers of the members of Road Boards.