E.—3. xxiv

## THURSDAY, 29TH APRIL, 1880.

The Commission met at Christchurch.

Present: The Chairman (Mr. Curtis), Mr. Clark, Colonel Pearce, Mr. Reid, and Mr. Wright. The evidence of the following witnesses was taken: Messrs W. M. Hannay, Traffic Manager, Temuka-Palmerston Section, and J. H. Lowe, Engineer for Constructed Railways, Middle Island.

The Commission received a deputation consisting of Messrs. T. W. Adams, James Gough, A. D. McIlwraith, and M. Crosbie, who urged that a line of railway should be constructed from the main south line at the north bank of the Selwyn River, following the road from the main south line along the north bank of the Selwyn, through Greendale, crossing the Waiareka, to the junction with Bealey's track, and thence by the Hororata Valley in a direct line to the Rakaia Gorge.

The evidence of the following witnesses was taken: Messrs. T. W. Adams, J. Gough, and

A. D. McIlwraith.

# FRIDAY, 30TH APRIL, 1880.

The Commission met at Christchurch.

Present: The Chairman (Mr. Curtis), Mr. Clark, Colonel Pearce, Mr. Reid, and Mr. Wright. The Commission received a deputation consisting of Messrs. E. C. J. Stevens, M.H.R., J. T. Fisher, M.H.R., J. T. Ford, W. Langdown, E. Banks, and W. Jones, who advocated the construction of a railway from Christchurch to Sumner.

The evidence of the following witnesses was taken: Messrs. Frederick Back (General Manager, Christchurch Railways), J. T. Ford, J. L. Wilson, G. P. Williams, M.I.C.E., and Allison Smith (Loco-

motive Engineer, Amberley-Palmerston Sections).

The Commission received a deputation consisting of Messrs. J. Jebson, J. Austin, H. Kirk, J. E. Hanson, William Prudhoe, F. Hudson, and H. Stewart, who requested that a branch line or siding might be constructed from Sheffield Railway Station to the Hawkins.

#### MONDAY, 3RD MAY, 1880.

The Commission met at Hokitika.

Present: The Chairman (Mr. Curtis), Mr. Clark, Mr. Reid, and Mr. Wright.
The Commission received a deputation consisting of the Hon. Mr. Bonar, M.L.C., Mr. Reid,
M.H.R., Mr. M. L. Jack (Mayor), Mr. J. S. Lang (Chairman Westland County Council), Mr. Robinson, and Mr. Malfroy, who urged the desirability of constructing a railway from the East Coast to the
West Coast and also of completing without delay the Coast and also of coast and also of coast and coast West Coast, and also of completing, without delay, the Greymouth-Hokitika Railway.

The evidence of the following witnesses was taken: Messrs. Robinson, Mueller (Chief Surveyor),

J. Malfroy, M. L. Jack, J. S. Lang, and J. Frew, C.E.

### MONDAY, 3RD MAY, 1880.

The Commission met at Kumara.

Present: The Chairman (Mr. Curtis), Mr. Clark, Mr. Reid, and Mr. Wright.

The Commission received a deputation consisting of Messrs. J. J. Pearn (Mayor), J. Wylde (Town Clerk), Councillors E. Blake and A. C. Campbell, who urged the desirability of completing the Greymouth-Hokitika Railway, with a deviation of the line to Kumara.

The evidence of Mr. E. Blake was taken.

#### Tuesday, 4th May, 1880.

The Commission met at Greymouth.

The Commission met at Greymoun.

Present: The Chairman (Mr. Curtis), Mr. Clark, Mr. Reid, and Mr. Wright.

The Commission received a deputation consisting of Messrs. E. Masters, M.H.R., R. Nancarrow (Mayor), A. R. Guinness (Chairman of County Council), M. Kennedy; County Councillors J. Marshall, D. Madden, J. Reid, J. M. Clifford, W. H. Boase, A. Ellis, P. Foley; Borough Councillors J. Kilgour, W. J. Coates, J. G. Thomas, P. B. Cameron, and F. C. Dupré, who urged the desirability of extending the railway from Brunnerton to Nelson Creek, and also of completing the Greymouth-Hokitika Railway via Kumara.

The evidence of the following witnesses was taken: Messrs. T. Ronayne (General Manager, Brunner Railway), E. Butler, and J. Marshall.

#### TUESDAY, 4TH MAY, 1880.

The Commission met at Reefton.

Present: The Chairman (Mr. Curtis), Mr. Clark, Mr. Reid, and Mr. Wright. The evidence of Mr. P. Brennan, Chairman, Inangahua County Council, was taken.

### SATURDAY, 8TH MAY, 1880.

The Commission met at Nelson.

Present: The Chairman (Mr. Curtis), Mr. Clark, Mr. Reid, and Mr. Wright.

The Commission received a deputation consisting of Messrs. Pitt, M.H.R., Acton-Adams, M.H.R., A. J. Richmond, M.H.R., J. R. Dodson (Mayor), J. W. Barnicoat (Chairman, Waimea County Council), and White (Chairman, Waimea Road Board), who urged the desirability of constructing a railway from Nelson to the West Coast.