TUESDAY, 6TH APRIL, 1880.

The Commission met at Orepuki.

Present: Mr. Wright (in the chair), Mr. Clark, and Mr. Reid.

The evidence of the following witnesses was taken: Mr. F. Reichel, miner; Mr. T. Armstrong, miner; Mr. Riddell, carpenter; Mr. A. McPherson, farmer; and Mr. H. Hirst, M.H.R.

WEDNESDAY, 7TH APRIL, 1880.

The Commission met at Invercargill.

Present: The Chairman (Mr. Curtis), Mr. Clark, Colonel Pearce, Mr. Reid, and Mr. Wright. The Commission took further evidence from Mr. T. Arthur, General Manager, Southland Railways.

MONDAY, 12TH APRIL, 1880.

The Commission met at Clyde.

Present: The Chairman (Mr. Curtis), Mr. Clark, Colonel Pearce, Mr. Reid, and Mr. Wright. The Commission received a deputation consisting of Messrs. B. Naylor (Member for Dunstan Riding, Vincent County), J. U. Cambridge, and G. Fache, who urged that the construction of the Otago Central Railway should be proceeded with as quickly as possible.

TUESDAY, 13TH APRIL, 1880.

The Commission met at Naseby.

Present: The Chairman (Mr. Curtis), Mr. Clark, Colonel Pearce, Mr. Reid, and Mr. Wright. The Commission received a deputation consisting of Messrs. Inder (Mayor), Wilson, Glenn, R. H. Brown (County Engineer), Busch, N. P. Hjorring, H. W. Robinson (Warden), and Allen, who urged the desirability of constructing the central railway, and of bringing that line along the Naseby side of Taieri Lake.

WEDNESDAY, 14TH APRIL, 1880.

The Commission met at Hyde.

Present: The Chairman (Mr. Curtis), Mr. Clark, Colonel Pearce, Mr. Reid, and Mr. Wright.
The Commission received a deputation from the Hyde Progress Committee, consisting of Messrs.

J. Laverty (Chairman), T. H. Ritchie (Secretary), P. Lawton, E. O'Connell, J. O'Brien, R. Boyd, and P. Kinney, who urged the desirability of constructing the Otago Central Railway as speedily as possible.

THURSDAY, 15TH APRIL, 1880.

The Commission met at Palmerston.

Present: The Chairman (Mr. Curtis), Mr. Clark, Colonel Pearce, Mr. Reid, and Mr. Wright. The Commission received a deputation consisting of Mr. M. Fagan (Mayor), Councillors D. Munro, J. McDonald, W. Little, R. H. Cathcart, Messrs. J. Arkle, J. McKenzie, B. O'Neill, and T. M. Smith, who represented that the railway passenger-station was inadequate for requirements, and that the Government, by taking away part of Ronald Street for railway purposes, had rendered ordinary traffic dangerous, owing to the narrowness of the road. They also urged the desirability of completing and extending the Waihemo Branch Railway.

FRIDAY, 16TH APRIL, 1880.

The Commission met at Dunedin.

Present: The Chairman (Mr. Curtis), Mr. Clark, Colonel Pearce, Mr. Reid, and Mr. Wright. The evidence of the following witnesses was taken: Mr. J. P. Maitland, Chief Commissioner of Crown Lands, Otago; Mr. C. Y. O'Connor, Assistant Engineer in Charge; Mr. Alexander Grant, General Manager, Otago Railways.

The Commission received a deputation from the Chamber of Commerce, consisting of Messrs. E. B. Cargill (Chairman), J. T. Mackerras, R. Wilson, G. C. Matheson, J. S. Webb (Secretary), who urged that full inquiry should be made respecting the Otago Central Railway.

SATURDAY, 17TH APRIL, 1880.

The Commission met at Dunedin.

Present: The Chairman (Mr. Curtis) and Colonel Pearce.

The Commission received a deputation from the Shag Point Railway Company, consisting of Mr. F. D. Rich (Director), and Mr. W. H. Williams (Manager), who urged that the Government should take over the Shag Point Railway, and recoup the Company for their outlay.

MONDAY, 19TH APRIL, 1880.

The Commission met at Dunedin.

Present: The Chairman (Mr Curtis), Mr. Clark, and Colonel Pearce.

The evidence of the following witnesses was taken: Mr. W. Arthur, Chief Surveyor, and Mr. David Barron, District Surveyor.